# STATE VOLUME 23 NUMBER 4 DECEMBER 2023 POLITICS & POLICY QUARTERLY



The official journal of the State Politics and Policy section of the American Political Science Association

https://doi.org/10.1017/spq.2023.33 Published online by Cambridge University Press

ISSN: 1532-4400

## **State Politics & Policy Quarterly**

#### **Co-Editors**

Conor Dowling, University at Buffalo Tracy Osborn, University of Iowa Jonathan Winburn, University of Mississippi

#### EDITORIAL BOARD

Charles Barrilleaux Florida State University Daniel R. Biggers, University of California, Riverside Nathaniel A. Birkhead, Kansas State University Frederick J. Boehmke, University of Iowa Daniel Bowen, The College of New Jersey Rebecca Bromley-Trujillo, Christopher Newport University Nadia E. Brown, Georgetown University Jordan Butcher, Arkansas State University Daniel M. Butler, Washington University St. Louis Christopher J. Clark, University North Carolina at Chapel Hill Jennifer Hayes Clark, University of Houston John Cluverius, University of Massachusetts Lowell Melody Crowder-Meyer, Davidson College Belinda Creel Davis, Louisiana State University Bruce A. Desmarais, Pennsylvania State University Jeffrey J. Harden, University of Notre Dame Shannon Jenkins, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Andrew Karch, University of Minnesota Jaclyn J. Kettler, Boise State University Justin H. Kirkland, University of Virginia Rebecca J. Kreitzer, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Mary A. Kroeger, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Anna Mahoney, Tulane University Todd Makse, Florida International University

Abigail A. Matthews, University at Buffalo, Kenneth J. Meier, American University Jamila Michener, Cornell University Michael G. Miller, Barnard College, Columbia University Megan Mullin, Duke University Michael J. Nelson, Pennsylvania State University Zoe Nemerever, Utah Valley University Christopher Ojeda, University of California, Merced Julie Pacheco, University of Iowa Chinnu Parinandi, University of Colorado at Boulder Janine A. Parry, University of Arkansas Julia A. Payson, New York University Shanna Pearson-Merkowitz, University of Maryland Justin H. Phillips, Columbia University Tessa Provins, University of Pittsburgh Rene R. Rocha, University of Iowa Steve Rogers, Saint Louis University Jamil S. Scott, Georgetown University Charles R. Shipan, University of Michigan Candis Watts Smith, Duke University Rachel Torres, James Madison University Christopher Witko, Pennsylvania State University Jennifer Wolak, Michigan State University Gerald Wright, Indiana University, Bloomington Jatia Wrighten, Virginia Commonwealth University Eric S. Zeemering, University of Georgia



Volume 23 Number 4 December 2023

The official journal of the State Politics and Policy section of the American Political Science Association

## Contents

### Articles

Evaluating Policy Mood Measures in the American States Jeffrey J. Harden, Julianna Pacheco, and Gerald C.Wright	341
The Validity of the Enns and Koch, and Berry et al. Measures of State Policy Mood: Continuing the Debate William D. Berry, Richard C. Fording, Russell L. Hanson, and Justin K. Crofoot	347
A Validation and Extension of State-Level Public Policy Mood: 1956–2020 Julius Lagodny, Rebekah Jones, Julianna Koch, and Peter K. Enns	359
Assessing a New Measure of State Policy Mood: Response to Lagodny, Jones, Koch, and Enns William D. Berry, Richard C. Fording, and Justin K. Crofoot	373
Introducing the U.S. Partisanship and Presidential Approval Dataset: Rejoinder to Berry, Fording, and Crofoot Peter K. Enns, Rebekah Jones, Julianna Koch, and Julius Lagodny	378
How Much Is a Trump Endorsement Worth? M.V. Hood III and Seth C. McKee	380
Governing Through Gridlock: Bill Composition under Divided Government Alison W. Craig	396
What Americans Know About Statehouse Democracy Steven Rogers	420
Are Initiatives an End-Run Around the Legislative Process? Divided Government and Voter Support for California Initiatives Jeff Cummins	443
Short Article	
Updating PAJID Scores for State Supreme Court Justices (1970–2019)	463

David A. Hughes, Teena Wilhelm, and Xuan Wang