EDITORIAL LIBRARY

CHURCH HISTORY

JUNE, 1955

The Anabaptists and the Civil Authorities of Strasbourg, 1525-1555

Robert Kreider

The Pacifism of the Sixteenth Century Anabaptists

Harold S. Bender

Recent Interpretations of Anabaptism

Robert Friedmann

American Missionaries in Greece: 1820-1869

Theodore Saloutos









Published by
THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF CHURCH HISTORY

THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF CHURCH HISTORY

Founded By Philip Schaff, 1888: Reorganized, 1906; Incorporated by Act Of The Legislature of New York, 1916.

OFFICERS FOR 1955

L. J. Trinterud	Frederick A. NorwoodAsst. Sec. Guy S. Klett
Rochester, New York)	

OTHER VOTING MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

elton H. Smith
dney E. Mead
ndford Fleming

ADVISORY MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

Henry B. Washburn	Wilhelm Pauck
William Walker Rockwell	Roland H. Bainton
Robert Hastings Nichols	E. R. Hardy, Jr.
Winfred E. Garrison	Harold S. Bender
William Warren Sweet	Percy V. Norwood
Conrad H. Moehlmann	Kenneth S. Latourette
Frederick W. Loetscher	Matthew Spinka
John T. McNeill	Cyril W. Richardson
	0 0 1 1 1

Ernest G. Schwiebert

CHURCH HISTORY is a quarterly journal published in March, June, September, and December by the American Society of Church History. The editorial address is Swift Hall 306, The University of Chicago, Chicago 37, Illinois.

Subscription prices are four dollars a year, one dollar and a quarter for single copies. Twenty-five cents a year should be added for foreign countries. Remittances should be made to the order of the American Society of Church History. Subscriptions, renewals, changes of address, claims for missing numbers, orders for single copies of current or back issues should be addressed to Guy S. Klett, Presbyterian Historical Society, 520 Witherspoon Building, Philadelphia 7, Pennsylvania. Claims for missing numbers will be honored without charge if made within within two months following the regular month of publication.

The articles in Church History are indexed in the International Index to Periodicals.

Microfilm reproductions of Church History, beginning with Volume XVIII, are available to subscribers and to members of the Society from University Microfilms, 313 North First Street, Ann Arbor, Michigan.

The Publication Office is in Berne, Indiana.

Entered as second class matter March 9, 1934, at the post-office at Berne, Indiana, under the Acts of March 3, 1879.

CHURCH HISTORY

Edited by J. H. Nichols and L. J. Trinterud with the cooperation of

ROLAND BAINTON (Divir Yale University)	nity School,	Sidney E. Mea University of		School,	
R. PIERCE BEAVER (Missearch Library)	sionary Re-	RAY C. PETRY (L. University)			
ROBERT GRANT (Divinity School, MATTHEW SPINI University of Chicago) logical Seminar		KA (Hartford Theo- ry)			
WINTHROP S. HUDSON Rochester Divinity Scho		WILHELM PAUCE Seminary)	t (Union Theo	logical	
VOL. XXIV	JUNE,	, 1955		No. 2	
			HISTORICAL	DRDIA INSTITUTE	
TA	BLE OF C	CONTENTS	L NA 801 DE MU ST. LOUIS 5		
THE ANABAPTISTS AN STRASBOURG, 1525		L Authorities	OF		
Robert Kreider				99	
THE PACIFISM OF THE BAPTISTS	HE SIXTEENT	H CENTURY A	NA÷		
Harold S. Bender				119	
RECENT INTERPRETAT	ions of Ana	BAPTISM			
Robert Friedmann	\imath			132	
American Missionae	RIES IN GREE	се: 1820-1869			
Theodore Salouto.	S			152	

CONTENTS

OCTORAL THESES	175
Book Reviews	181
West, William Garret: Barton Warren Stone: American Advocate of Christian Unity.	Early W. E. Garrison
Johnston, Ruby F.: The Development of Negro Religion	onDavid E. Swift
Oulton, John Ernest Leonard and Chadwick, H. Alexandrian Christianity; Selected Translations of C and Origen with Introductions and Notes	lement
Knopf, Alfred A.: Medieval Political Ideas by Ewart	
Schmidt, Martin: John Wesley	David C. Shipley
Wilson, Howard McKnight, The Tinkling Spring Hea of Freeedom, A Study of the Church and Her 1732-1952 I	Pcople,
MILLMAN, THOMAS R.: The Life of the Right Revere Honourable Charles James Stewart	
Burr, Nelson R.: The Anglican Church in New	
Bodo, John R.: The Protestant Clergy and Public	Issues, Sidney E. Mead
Lyttle, Charles H.: Freedom Moves West: a History Western Unitarian Conference, 1852-1952	y of the Conrad Wright