

The Mathematical Gazette



Gaston Tarry and multimagic squares

Volume 95 Number 534 November 2011



THE MATHEMATICAL ASSOCIATION

£25.00

THE MATHEMATICAL ASSOCIATION

AN ASSOCIATION OF TEACHERS AND STUDENTS OF ELEMENTARY MATHEMATICS

'I hold every man a debtor to his profession, from the which as men of course do seek to receive countenance and profit, so ought they of duty to endeavour themselves by way of amends to be a help and an ornament thereunto.'

BACON

THE COUNCIL

PRESIDENT

Dr Paul Andrews

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT Dr David Acheson
PRESIDENT DESIGNATE Professor Marcus de

PRESIDENT DESIGNATE Professor Marcus du Sautoy
CHAIR OF COUNCIL Professor Adam McBride
SECRETARY Dr Catherine Ogden

TREASURER Dr Paul Harris

REPRESENTATIVES BRANCHES Mr David Pountney (Chair)
OF COMMITTEES CONFERENCES Mr Bill Richardson (Chair)

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT Mrs Liz Woodham (Chair)
PUBLICATIONS Mr Barry Lewis (Chair)
PUBLICITY & MEMBERSHIP Dr Geoff Tennant (Chair)
TEACHING COMMITTEE Dr Chris Pritchard (Chair)

EDITOR IN CHIEF Mr Paul Metcalf

MEMBERS Mrs Fiona Allan Mr James Grime
WITHOUT Mrs Alison Clark-Wilson Mrs Lynne McClure
OFFICE Mr David Crawford Miss Cherri Moseley
Mr Rob Eastaway Ms Rachael Read

Mr Rob Eastaway Ms Rachael

Dr Tony Gardiner

SENIOR ADMINISTRATOR Ms Marcia Murtay

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE OF THE MATHEMATICAL GAZETTE

Editor Dr Gerry Leversha

Production Editor Mr Bill Richardson

Reviews Editor Dr Martin Griffiths

Problems Editors Mr Nick Lord, Dr Stan Dolan

Assistant Editors Mr Tom Roper, Mr Colin Davis, Mr Michael Fox,

Dr Andrew Jobbings, Professor Adam McBride