## BULLETIN

# OF THE BRITISH SOCIETY FOR THE HISTORY OF SCIENCE

/OL. 1 April, 1950 No. 3 CONTENTS PAGE THE HISTORIAN AND THE HISTORY OF SCIENCE BY PROF. H. BUTTERFIELD 49 PRESIDENTIAL ADDRESS (1949), BY DR. CHARLES SINGER 59 PROCEEDINGS AT MEETINGS, MARCH TO DECEMBER, 1949 64 **OBITUARY NOTICE : MICHAEL ROBERTS** 66 BOOK REVIEWS AND NOTICES. 66 PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUP SUPPLEMENT No. 2 Abstracts of Papers :---HEURISTICS AND THE INDUCTIVE METHOD, BY PROF. G. POLYA 67 THE INFERENCE OF THE GENE, BY PROF. K. MATHER 67 THE PHILOSOPHICAL AND EXPERIMENTAL ASPECTS OF PSYCHOLOGY, BY DR. R. H. THOULESS 68 THE FOUNDATIONS OF DYNAMICS, BY DR. G. J. WHITROW 70 SOME ASPECTS OF THE SEARCH FOR INVARIANTS, BY DR. G. W. SCOTT BLAIR 71

### OFFICERS AND COUNCIL

#### PRESIDENT

Professor J. R. PARTINGTON, M.B.E.

#### VICE-PRESIDENTS

Prof. HERBERT DINGLE Dr. E. J. HOLMYARD Dr. Charles Singer Mrs. Charles Singer Dr. F. Sherwood Taylor Dr. H. Hamshaw Thomas

#### HONORARY SECRETARY

F. H. C. BUTLER, Esq.

#### HONORARY TREASURER

Dr. F. A. FREETH, O.B.E., F.R.S.

#### ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COUNCIL

Dr. H. P. BAYON Prof. HERBERT BUTTERFIELD Dr. A. C. CROMBIE V. A. EVLES, Esq. Dr. DOROTHY FEYER Dr. S. LILLEY THOMAS MARTIN, ESQ. Dr. S. F. MASON Dr. D. MCKIE Prof. L. ROSENFELD Dr. H. SHAW Dr. E. ASHWORTH UNDERWOOD

#### PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUP

CHAIRMAN Prof. J. H. WOODGER

#### VICE-CHAIRMAN

Prof. H. DINGLE

HONORARY SECRETARY

Dr. A. C. CROMBIE

#### ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COMMITTEE

F. I. G. RAWLINS, Esq. Dr. G. J. WHITROW L. L. WH TE, Esq.

#### Editor of the Bulletin,

Dr. N. H. de V. Heathcote, Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.I.

Communications for the Philosophy of Science Group Supplement should be addressed to Dr. A. C. Crombie, Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.1.

Ordinary membership of the British Society for the History of Science is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members, approved by the Council, and elected at an ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Society is at present £1 1s. 0d., payable to the Treasurer on 1st May in each year.

Ordinary Membership of the Philosophy of Science Group is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members of the Group, approved b 't' e Committee and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Group is 10s. 6d. Members of the British Society for the History of Science are not required to pay a subscription as Members of the Group.

Published by The Society, 10, Exhibition Road, South Kensington, London, S.W.7. Telephone : KENsington 8806