# NEWS FROM THE SOCIETY



# MINUTES OF THE **ASLM ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING** June 6, 1978

On June 6, 1978, the Annual Business Meeting of the membership of the American Society of Law & Medicine took place at the Society headquarters in Boston. The following actions were announced by Elliot L. Sagall, M.D., President of the Society, and approved by those present or represented in proxy:

- 1. The slate of nominees for positions on the Society Council, which was proposed by the Steering Committee, was approved. A complete list of these individuals and their pertinent biographical data was included in the previous issue of Medicolegal News, volume six, number two, at pages 30-31.
- 2. The Officers of the Society for the year 1978-9 were elected by the Council as provided for in the Society's constitution and by-laws. John A. Norris, J.D., M.B.A., Editor-in-Chief of the American Journal of Law & Medicine and an attorney specializing in health care and hospital law, will replace Douglas Danner, J.D., a noted Boston trial attorney and co-founder of the American Society of Law & Medicine, as First Vice-President effective July 1, 1978. Mr. Danner will continue his affiliation with the Society by serving as a Member of the Council and as General Counsel. Elliot L. Sagall, M.D., was re-elected to the Society Presidency; Richard F. Gibbs, M.D., J.D., was re-elected as Vice President, as were Barry C. Reed, J.D., as Treasurer; and Michael D. Jusell as Secretary.
- 3. An increase in the annual membership dues, from \$45 to \$60, was approved, effective January 1, 1979. Members will continue to receive without additional charge, annual subscriptions to both Medicolegal News and the American Journal of Law a Medicine, reduced registration fees at Society conferences and symposia, a membership certificate suitable for framing if desired, no charge participation in the ASLM Book Purchase Service, and other benefits to be announced. Although the annual dues have remained constant for two years, the rapidly rising cost of postage, printing and clerical assistance, as well as the increased scope of the Society and its publications, have necessitated this increase in regular membership dues. Student membership dues for 1979 will be \$28.00. A ten percent group membership discount will be afforded all groups of four or more from the same institution or organization.
- An increase in the non-member subscription rate for Medicolegal News was approved; effective January 1, 1979, subscriptions will be \$25 per year.
- 5. The non-member subscription rate for the American Journal of Law & Medicine was also increased to \$40 for both individuals and institutions.
- 6. The decision to award the Society's Honorary Life Membership Award for 1978 to Senator Jacob K. Javits (R-N.Y.) was approved. The Award was formally presented to Senator Javits by Dr. Elliot L. Sagall at the National Conference on Health Care Facility Labor Law recently sponsored in Washington, D.C. by the Society.

President Elliot L. Sagall, M.D., also reported on the current financial status of the Society and the membership total, now over 1400 and climbing daily. A review of Society programs and conferences, past and presently being planned, was also presented.

> Michael D. Jusell Secretary

### OFFICERS Elliot L. Sagall, M.D.

John A. Norris, J.D., M.B.A. First Vice-President Richard F. Gibbs, M.D., J.D. Vice-President Michael D. Jusell Secretary
Barry C. Reed, LL.B.
Treasurer
J. Robertson Knowles, M.D.
Honorary Secretary-Treasurer

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

#### MEDICINE

Donald B. Barkan, M.D., F.A.C.P. Howard A. Frank, M.D. Robert R. Mezer, M.D. Hiram Vazquez Milan, M.D. Aubrey Millunelty, MB.B.Ch., M.R.C.P., D.C.H. Aubrey Milluneky, MB.B.Cl Irving Root, M.D. Alain B. Rossier, M.D. Sidney Scherits, M.D. Richard C. Webster, M.D. Gerald F. Winkler, M.D.

#### LAW

Leonard S. Bodner, J.D.
Thomas E. Cargill, LL.B.
Neil L. Chayet, J.D.
Lee J. Dunn, Jr., J.D., LL.M.
Roy N. Freed, LL.B.
Bernard D. Hirsh, J.D.
Angele R. Holder, LL.M.
Paul D. Rheingold, LL.B.
Lawrence J. Smith, J.D.
Stephen M. Weiner, J.D.

#### NURSING

Myrtle Aydelotte, R.N., Ph.D. Mary M. Cushing, R.N., J.D. Ann Peterson Hyde Frances A. Maize Roos, R.N.

# DENTISTRY

Paul Goldhaber, D.D.S. John W. Stone, D.D.S., J.D.

### EDUCATION

George J. Annas, J.D., M.P.H. Herold L. Hirsh, M.D., J.D. Richard G. Huber, J.D., LL.M. Frances H. Miller, J.D. Arthur F. Southwick, J.D.

### OTHER HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS

Thomas S. Durant, M.D. James F. Hotzer, J.D. John J. Kriight Mitchell T. Rabkin, M.D. Beatrice Phillips Sachs, M.S.W., A.C.S.W.

### JUDICIARY

Honorable Kathleen Ryan Dao Honorable Arlyne F. Hassett Honorable Robert L. Hermann Honorable John V. Keaney Honorable Max Rosenn

## INSURANCE

Joseph Franklin, M.D., M.P.H. Joseph D. Lonergan George P. Sawyer John Larkin Thompson, J.D. David Z. Webster, LLB., M.B.A.

# AT-LARGE

Herbert H. Bennett, LL.B. Paul F. Connors, M.D., J.D. Harry W. Dahl Douglas Danner, J.D. Kent Hull, J.D. Irvin Klein, M.D. Kevin M. McIntyre, M.D., J.D. Iver S. Ravin, M.D. Margery W. Shaw, M.D., J.D.

GENERAL COUNSEL Douglas Danner, J.D.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

**FALL 1978**