CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PHILOSOPHY



CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS

CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PHILOSOPHY

Editorial Board

Editorial Board Coordinator

Mark McCullagh, University of Guelph, Canada

Executive Editors

Chrisoula Andreou, University of Utah, USA Nathan Ballantyne, Fordham University, USA Ingo Brigandt, University of Alberta, Canada Emily Carson, McGill University, Canada Sam Cowling, Denison University, USA Luca Ferrero, University of California at Riverside, USA David Hunter, Ryerson University, Canada Henry Jackman, York University, Canada Rahul Kumar, Queen's University, Canada Colin Macleod, University of Victoria, Canada Patricia Marino, University of Waterloo, Canada Tristram McPherson, Ohio State University, USA Chris Mole, University of British Columbia, Canada Patrick Rysiew, University of Victoria, Canada Amy Schmitter, University of Alberta, Canada Sergio Tenenbaum, University of Toronto, Canada

Editorial Office

Bryan Richard, Editorial Assistant, University of Guelph, Canada

Critical Notices Editor

Margaret Cameron, University of Melbourne, Australia

Canadian Journal of Philosophy Volume 50 Number 5 July 2020

CONTENTS