6 Ecc LJ

Volume 6

ECCLESIASTICAL LAW JOURNAL

January 2002

Discipline of the Clergy: Medieval and Modern Professor Richard Helmholz

Living in Suspense: Problems and Solutions with Suspension of the Right of Presentation The Revd Jonathan Redvers Harris

Diversity in Unity: Approaches to Church Order in Rome and in Byzantium Father Clarence Gallagher

Canon Law and Communion Professor Norman Doe

(For full list of contents, see back cover)

The Journal of the Ecclesiastical Law Society

ECCLESIASTICAL LAW JOURNAL

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

Michael Goodman (*Chairman*)* James Behrens Timothy Briden Rupert Bursell Norman Doe David Harte Mark Hill Hughie Jones Lynne Leeder Peter Moore Michael O'Connor Thomas Watkin

* Until 1st February 2002 when he is succeeded by Mark Hill

EDITORIAL ADVISORY BOARD

Professor John Baker Bishop Eric Kemp Professor Richard Helmholz Professor Francis Lyall Chancellor David McClean Revd Dr Robert Ombres OP Professor Dr Gerhard Robbers

The Ecclesiastical Law Journal is published by the Ecclesiastical Law Society. Decisions on the publication of individual articles are at the discretion of the Editor but are normally made on the advice of referees, chosen by the Editor as expert in the relevant area. General policies of the Journal are developed in consultation with the Editorial Committee and the Editorial Advisory Board.

The views expressed in any article, review or other publication in this Journal do not necessarily accord with those of the Editorial Committee or the Society as a whole. Editor

ISSN 0956-618X

Items in this issue should be cited 6 Ecc LJ

Typeset in Times Roman on Apple Macintosh and printed by Oxuniprint, Oxford University Press, Great Clarendon Street, Oxford OX2 6DP.

All rights in this publication are reserved. It may not be reproduced or transmitted in whole or in part, for sale or otherwise, in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording or storage in any retrieval system, without written permission from the Ecclesiastical Law Society.

© The Ecclesiastical Law Society 2002

ECCLESIASTICAL LAW SOCIETY

Patrons

The Most Revd and Rt Hon the Lord Archbishop of Canterbury The Most Revd and Rt Hon the Lord Archbishop of York

Vice-Patrons

The Most Revd the Lord Archbishop of Wales The Most Revd the Lord Archbishop of Armagh The Most Revd the Primus of Scotland

> President The Rt Revd Dr Eric Kemp

Elective Officers (to 2002) CHAIRMAN: Dr Frank Robson OBE† VICE-CHAIRMAN: The Rt Revd the Lord Bishop of Stafford† SECRETARY: Peter Beesley† DEPUTY SECRETARY: Nicholas J. Richens† TREASURER: The Revd Canon John Rees†

> Executive Officer The Revd Canon Michael O'Connor†

General Committee 2001–2002

The Officers together with:

ELECTED: James Behrens (to 2002) The Worshipful Chancellor John Holden (to 2002) The Worshipful Chancellor Charles Mynors (to 2002) The Revd Dr Robert Ombres OP (to 2002) Dr Brian Hanson CBE (to 2003) David Harte (to 2003) The Ven the Archdeacon of Malmesbury (to 2003) Augur Pearce (to 2003) Paul Barber (to 2004) The Revd and Worshipful Chancellor Rupert Bursell QC⁺ (to 2004) The Worshipful Chancellor Michael Goodman^{+*} (to 2004) The Worshipful Chancellor Mark Hill⁺ (to 2004) CO-OPTED: Dr Norman Doe The Worshipful Chancellor Thomas Coningsby QC (to 2002) His Honour Quentin Edwards QC (to 2002)

† Member of Executive Committee

* Chairman of the Editorial Committee

Web site: www.ecclawsoc.org.uk