# **SECTION NEWS**

#### Law and Courts

The Law and Politics Book Review published 192 book reviews and 32 book notices between August 1999 and August 2000. The electronic journal (www.polsci. wvu.edu/lpbr/) is currently edited by Richard A. Brisbin of West Virginia University. Those interested in serving as book reviewers should contact Prof. Brisbin at rbrisbin@wvu.edu.

Information, Technology, and Politics

The section formerly known as Computers and Multimedia has changed its name to Information, Technology, and Politics.

# Ecological and Transformational Politics

The section has revised its mission statement to read, "The Organized Section on Ecological and Transformational Politics supports scholarship, teaching, and political action in the areas of participatory democracy, ecological well being, social justice, conflict resolution, and human growth."

#### New Political Science

The section has establish a new annual, lifetime achievement award to recognize a career of distinguished service. The award has not yet been named. Carl Boggs of National University will chair the selection committee (cboggs@nu.edu).

#### Foreign Policy

Members of the Organized Section on Domestic Sources of Foreign voted to change the organization's name to simply Foreign Policy.

# International History and Politics

During the section's 2000 business meeting, the members of the Organized Section on Interdisciplinary Approaches to International History and Politics Section agreed to change the section's name to International History and Politics. They also voted to create the Robert L.

Jervis and Paul W. Schroeder International History and Politics Book Prize. To be awarded for the first time in 2001, the prize will go to the best single authored, multiauthored, or edited book published in a twoyear period which promotes, explains, and/or employs (a) history and historiographical methods to improve the analysis and understanding of international politics; and/or (b) political science and scientific methods to improve the analvsis and understanding of international history. More information about the prize can be found on the section's web site (www.asu.edu/clas/ polisci/ihap/).

## Comparative Democratization

APSA members interested in democracy and transitions from authoritarian regimes in African, Latin American, Eurasian, and Asian countries are invited to join the new Organized Section on Comparative Democratization. Serving temporarily as officers until formal elections can be held will be John Harbeson, CUNY Graduate Center (jwharbeson@aol.com); Cynthia Mc-Clintock, George Washington University (mcclin@gwu.edu); and Carol Nechemias, Pennsylvania State University, Harrisburg (c4n@psu.edu).

## Human Rights

In November 2000, the APSA Council approved the formation of a new Organized Section on Human Rights. For information on the section's concerns and how to become a charter member, please contact Zehra Arat, Purchase College-SUNY, at zarat@purchase.edu.

The section will participate as a Division Organizer at the 2001 Annual Meeting in San Francisco

# Organized Sections Distribute Awards at Annual Meeting

At their respective meetings during APSA's 2000 Annual Meeting in

Washington, DC, Organized Sections presented over 50 awards recognizing dissertations, books, papers, and careers. Many of these section awards are given annually and nominations are sought at this time for next year's awards. For further information be sure to visit www. apsanet.org/about/sections.

## Federalism and Intergovernmental Relations

The Distinguished Scholar Award, recognizing distinguished scholarly contributions to the study of federalism and intergovernmental relations, was presented to Thomas Anton, a member of the departments of political science and public policy at Brown University. The Best Paper Award, conferred for the best paper in the field of federalism and intergovernmental relations presented at the 1999 APSA Annual Meeting, went to Alexandra Filindra of Rutgers University, New Brunswick for her paper, "Fiscal Federalism and the Politics of Intergovernmental Grants: Lessons for the European Union." The Best Book Award, given for the best book on federalism and intergovernmental relations published at least 10 years ago that has made a lasting contribution to the study of federalism and intergovernmental relations, was presented to David B. Walker of the University of Connecticut for Toward a Functioning Federalism (Winthrop, 1981).

#### Law and Courts

Members of the law and courts section saw the American Judicature Society Award for the best paper on law and courts presented at the previous year's annual meetings of the American, Midwest, Northeastern, Southern, Southwestern, or Western Political Science Associations conferred upon Laura Langer of the University of Arizona for "Does the Chief Justice on State Courts of Last Resort Shape Judicial Review? The Case of Workers' Compensation." Langer gave the paper at the APSA meeting. Robert A. Dahl of