From the Editor



Microscopy Today Innovation Awards

This issue showcases the winners of the third annual *Microscopy Today* Innovation Awards competition. These awards were established to honor innovative microscopy-related products and methods that appeared in the previous year.

Our team of judges, led by Tom Kelly, looked for innovations that will make new scientific investigations possible. The ten winning innovations are selected on the basis of their importance and usefulness to the microscopy community. The entries most likely to win are those that provide better, faster, or entirely new methods of analysis using some type of microscope or microanalytical instrument.

The 2012 Microscopy Today Innovation Award winners are:

Bruker Nano Surfaces Dimension FastScan[™] improves AFM speed 10× FEI Vion[™] Plasma Focused Ion Beam provides analysis of 3D circuits Gatan K2 Summit Direct Detection Camera records at high resolution Leica SR GSD Super-Resolution Microscope achieves 20 nm resolution Lumen Dynamics Internal Pulse Generator programs LED light sources Olympus SCALEVIEW Microscope Objectives peer deep into brain tissue PNNL Multimodal Electrochemical Probe for *in-situ* TEM experiments Rebellion Photonics ARROW enables hyperspectral video imaging Technical University of Denmark 3D-OMiTEM facilitates 3D orientation mapping Tousimis touch screen 931 for critical-point drying of difficult samples

Descriptions of the above innovations are given in an article within this issue. Congratulations to the developers of these instruments and methods.

Details of the nomination process for the 2013 *Microscopy Today* Innovation Awards will be posted on the *Microscopy Today* website (www.microscopy-today.com) by January 1, 2013. Nomination applications will be accepted through March 15, 2013.

Charles Lyman Editor-in-Chief

Publication Objective: to provide information of interest to microscopists.

Microscopy Today is a controlled-circulation trade magazine owned by the Microscopy Society of America that is published six times a year in the odd months. Editorial coverage spans all microscopy techniques including light microscopy, scanning probe microscopy, electron microscopy, ion-beam techniques, and the wide range of microanalytical methods. Readers and authors come from both the life sciences and the physical sciences. The typical length of an article is about 2,000 words plus figures and tables; feature articles are longer. Interested authors should consult "Instructions for Contributors" on the *Microscopy Today* website: www.microscopy-today.com.

ISSN 1551-9295

Disclaimer

The Microscopy Society of America and the editors cannot be held responsible for opinions, errors, or for any consequences arising from the use of information contained in *Microscopy Today*. The appearance of advertising in *Microscopy Today* does not constitute an endorsement or approval by the Microscopy Society of America of any claims or information found in the advertisements. By submitting a manuscript to *Microscopy Today*, the author warrants that the article is original or that the author has written permission to use copyrighted material published elsewhere. While the contents of this magazine are believed to be accurate at press time, neither the Microscopy Society of America, the editors, nor the authors can accept legal responsibility for errors or omissions.

© Copyright 2012 by the Microscopy Society of America. All rights reserved.



Editorial Staff

Charles E. Lyman, *Editor-in-Chief* charles.lyman@lehigh.edu (610) 758-4249

Gennifer Levey, Production Manager glevey@meridianartproduction.com (212) 780-0315

Ron Anderson, Executive Editor microscopytoday@tampabay.rr.com Phil Oshel, Technical Editor oshellpe@cmich.edu

Stephen Carmichael, Columnist carmichael.stephen@mayo.edu

Michael Davidson, Pioneers Editor davidson@magnet.fsu.edu

Steven Barlow, Education Editor sbarlow@sunstroke.sdsu.edu

Thomas E. Phillips, Consulting Editor phillipst@missouri.edu

E. Ann Ellis, *Microscopy 101 Editor* eann.ellis@worldnet.att.net

Paul Webster, Calendar Editor pwebster@usc.edu

John Shields, Humor Editor jpshield@uga.edu

Thomas Kelly, Chief Awards Judge Thomas.kelly@ametek.com

Advertising Sales

M.J. Mrvica Associates, Inc. 2 West Taunton Avenue, Berlin, NJ 08009 mjmrvica@mrvica.com (856) 768-9360

Amy Reuter, Account Manager areuter@mrvica.com

Magazine website:

http://www.microscopy-today.com Free subscriptions are available

Publisher

Cambridge University Press 32 Avenue of the Americas New York, NY 10013-2473 (212) 337-5000

Circulation: 17,000

Editorial Board

Arlan Benscoter, Lehigh University John Bozzola, Southern Illinois University Peter Crozier, Arizona State University Vinayak Dravid, Northwestern University Joseph Goldstein, University of Massachusetts David Grubb, Cornell University Bryan Huey, University of Connecticut John Mackenzie, North Carolina State Univ. Paul Maddox, University of Montreal Ania Majewska, U. Rochester Med School Greg Meeker, U.S. Geological Survey Joseph Michael, Sandia National Labs Caroline Miller, Indiana University Robert Price, University of South Carolina John Reffner, John Jay College, SUNY Ian Robertson, University of Illinois Phillip Russell, Appalachian State University Glenn Shipley, Citizen Microscopist Robert Simmons, Georgia State University Paul Voyles, University of Wisconsin Simon Watkins, University of Pittsburgh Cynthia Zeissler, Nat. Inst. of Sci. and Tech. (NIST)