British Journal of Political Science

VOLUME 54 | PART 3 | JULY 2024











British Journal of Political Science

Editors: Lucy Barnes, University College London, UK TIFFANY BARNES, University of Kentucky, USA CRISTINA BODEA, Michigan State University, USA PAUL BOU-HABIB, University of Essex, UK SHAUN BOWLER, University of California, Riverside, USA TOBIAS BÖHMELT, University of Essex, UK RUTH DASSONNEVILLE, Université de Montréal, Canada LUCAS LEEMANN, University of Zürich, Switzerland (Lead Editor)

Editorial Board

TARIK ABOU-CHADI, Oxford University JAMES ADAMS, University of California, Davis JAMES ALT, Harvard University ZORZETA BAKAKI, University of Essex Anna Bassi, University of North Carolina THOMAS BERNAUER, ETH Zürich ANTHONY BERTELLI, Penn State University SARAH BIRCH, King's College London VINCENZO BOVE, University of Warwick ALEX BRAITHWAITE, University of Arizona SARAH BROOKS, Ohio State University RANDALL CALVERT, Washington University, St Louis XUN CAO, Penn State University HAN DORUSSEN, University of Essex ERICA FRANTZ, Michigan State University JENNIFER GANDHI, Yale University JOHN GERRING, Boston University KRISTIAN SKREDE GLEDITSCH, University of Essex ROBERT E. GOODIN, Australian National University JULIA GRAY, University of Pennsylvania CHRISTOFFER GREEN-PEDERSEN, Aarhus University DAVID STASAVAGE, New York University ANDREW GUESS, Princeton University JAE HEE JUNG, University of Houston SIMON HIX, European University Institute SARA HOBOLT, London School of Economics and Political Science WILL JENNINGS, University of Southampton PETER JOHN, King's College London ANTHONY KING, (Founding Editor) in memoriam

DESMOND KING, University of Oxford THOMAS KÖNIG, University of Mannheim FILIP KOSTELKA, European University Institute TODD LANDMAN, University of Nottingham MICHAEL LAVER, New York University PATRICK LE GALÈS, Sciences Po Paris XIAOBO LÜ, University of Texas at Austin GAIL McElroy, Trinity College, Dublin HELEN MILNER, Princeton University DIANA Z O'BRIEN, Washington University, St Louis AVIA PASTERNAK, University of Toronto PIA RAFFLER, Harvard University NITA RUDRA, Georgetown University GERALD SCHNEIDER, University of Konstanz KENNETH SHEPSLE, Harvard University JON SLAPIN, University of Zurich DUNCAN SNIDAL, University of Oxford ZEYNEP SOMER-TOPCU, University of Texas, Austin GABRIELE SPILKER, Universität Konstanz ARTHUR SPIRLING, Princeton University MILAN SVOLIK, Yale University MARGIT TAVITS, Washington University, St Louis INGRID VAN BIEZEN, Leiden University HUGH WARD, University of Essex ALBERT WEALE, University College London ANA WEEKS, University of Bath JESSICA WEEKS, University of Wisconsin, Madison

EDITORIAL POLICY

The British Journal of Political Science is an independent journal, whose policy is set by its editorial board. It is committed to no methodological orthodoxy over and above the normal canons of scholarship: clear and consistent use of words, logical and mathematical validity, and the use of appropriate evidence to substantiate empirical statements. Contributions are invited in all fields of political science and political theory, except the history of political thought. Innovative and authoritative work addressed to problems of general significance to students of politics will be published whatever the period(s) or place(s) drawn upon for evidence. The Editors reserve the right to decline articles if, according to their own judgement, they are inconsistent with editorial policy.

British Journal of Political Science and all other Cambridge journals can be found at: journals.cambridge.org.

© Cambridge University Press & Assessment 2024 Printed and bound by CPI Group (UK) Ltd, Croydon, CR0 4YY.

This journal issue has been printed on FSCTM-certified paper and cover board. FSC is an independent, nongovernmental, not-for-profit organization established to promote the responsible management of the world's forests. Please see www.fsc.org for information.