ΠΣΑ

Pi Sigma Alpha Names Award Winners

Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society is pleased to announce the winners of the $\Pi\Sigma A/Howard$ Penniman Scholarship, Best Chapter, and Chapter Advisor Awards for the 1997–98 academic year.

Pi Sigma Alpha/Howard Penniman Scholarship Award Winners

Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society, has awarded five \$1,500 scholarships for graduate study in political science to members of the honor society who are entering graduate school in the fall of 1998. The winners are:

Benjamin Joseph Deufel, Phi Kappa Chapter, Wabash College

Kirk Aaron Greer, Sigma Theta Chapter, Kenyon College

Magda Belen Hinojosa, Alpha Chapter, University of Texas at Austin

Wesley Allen Hussey, Pi Omicron Chapter, University of California, Irvine

Rachel Lorraine Seher, Eta Rho Chapter, College of William and Mary.

The 1998 $\Pi\Sigma$ A/Howard Penniman Graduate Scholarship Selection Committee consisted of Elaine Swift of Eastern Washington University, Chair; Susan MacManus of the University of South Florida; and William Keefe of the University of Pittsburgh.

Best Chapter Award

Pi Sigma Alpha is pleased to announce the winners of its Best Chapter Awards for the 1997–98 academic year. These awards recognize $\Pi\Sigma\Lambda$ chapters which are extraordinarily active and effective within their departments, on their campuses, and in their communities, and are given for three categories based on the size of the institution in which the chapter is located.

Schools with enrollment under 6,000:

The Citadel, Charleston, South Carolina (A two-time winner!)

Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa

Schools with 6,000-15,000 enrollment:

Murray State University, Murray, Kentucky Mercer University, Macon, Georgia

Schools with enrollment over 15,000:

University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Nevada Utah State University, Logan, Utah Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, Arizona

Best Chapter Advisor Award

Three Pi Sigma Alpha Chapter Advisors have been honored with Best Advisor Awards for their achievements during the 1997–98 academic year. They are:

Jerry Simich, University of Nevada, Las Vegas Jeffrey Greene, University of Montana Elen Singh, Mississippi Valley State University

https://doi.org/10.1017/S1049096500055311 Published online by Cambridge University Press



Benjamin Deufel



Kirk Greer



Magda Hinojosa



Wesley Hussey



Rachel Seher

tory of U.S. foreign policy and the documents recording that history, recently issued its annual report and urged all federal agencies to comply with existing declassification requirements so that Foreign Relations can continue to stand as "world's most honest, full, and professional published collection" of official foreign policy documents.

Noting that their mandate requires them to ensure the Foreign Relations volumes are "comprehensive" and "accurate," the committee fears that intelligence agencies' unwillingness to release documents detailing overseas activities will require them to recommend against publication of future volumes because the conscious omission of such documents will make the volumes "so incomplete and misleading as to constitute an official lie."

Summaries of published volumes in the *Foreign Relations* series are available on the U.S. Department of State's web site (www.state.gov/www/about state/history/frus.html).

The American Political Science Association is represented on the committee by Benton Vincent Davis Jr., University of Kentucky.