The College

Election of Honorary Officers

Following the recent elections, the following Honorary Officers will take office in July 1993.

| Dean - Professor John Cox; Registrar - Professor | | | Registrar – Professor Christopher Thompson | | 1162 |
|--|--|-------|--|------------------------------|------|
| Christopher Thompson; Treasurer – Professor Israel | | | Dr James Higgins | | 924 |
| Kolvin: | and editor - Professor Greg Wilkin | ison. | | | |
| • | | | Treasure | er – Professor Israel Kolvin | 1034 |
| Votes were cast as follows: | | | Dr Cyril Davies | | 1024 |
| Dean | Professor John Cox | 1131 | | • | |
| | Professor Roy McClelland | 635 | Editor | - Professor Greg Wilkinson | 1128 |
| | Dr Jeremy Bolton | 402 | | Dr Alan Kerr | 1003 |
| | | | | | |

Psychiatric Bulletin (1993), 17, 179

Annual Elections

Council and Court of Electors

Fellows and Members of the College are reminded of their rights in connection with the forthcoming elections for the vacancies on the Court of Electors and for Elected Members of Council. The relevant Bye-Laws and Regulations are printed below.

The nominating meeting of Council will be held on 17 March 1993 and the last date for receiving nominations will therefore be 13 April 1993.

Extracts from Bye-Laws and Regulations

Bye-Law XXI THE COURT OF ELECTORS

4. At the first meeting of the Council in alternate years after the name of the President for the next ensuing College year has become known, the Council shall nominate a sufficient number of candidates for appointment as Electors to ensure an election, which will be held by a postal ballot of all Members of the College in the manner prescribed by the Regulations. Additional nominations may be lodged with the Registrar between the beginning of the then current calendar year and the end of four clear weeks after the meeting of the Council above referred to. No such nomination shall be valid unless it is supported in writing by twelve Members of the College and accompanied by the nominee's written consent to serve if elected.

Regulation XIX THE COUNCIL

2. Not less than four of the twelve elected Members of Council shall be elected or re-elected each alternate year subject to the overall condition that no elected member shall serve on Council for more than six years in that capacity without a break of at least one year. At its first meeting in each alternate College year after the name of the President for the next ensuing College year has become known, the Council shall nominate for election to the Council four or more Members of the College. Any nominee who is proposed and seconded and gives his consent in writing to serve shall be validly nominated. Any twelve Members of the College may make nominations in writing at any time between the first day of January in each alternate year and the date which is four clear weeks after the meeting of the Council at which its nominations are made. Nominations other than those made by the Council shall be lodged with the Registrar and accompanied by the written consent of the candidate to serve if elected. Should there be more nominations than vacancies, an election shall be held by ballot of the Members of the College. The ballot paper shall not indicate the method of nomination or the names of those nominating. If the number of nominees does not exceed the number of vacancies, these nominees shall be declared elected at the first meeting, whether of the Council or of the Executive and Finance Committee, after the expiry of the period of four clear weeks in this paragraph referred to.