The Canadían Journal of ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE

The Journal of the Canadían Polítical Science Association

VOLUME XXIII FEBRUARY TO NOVEMBER 1957

PUBLISHED QUARTERLY BY UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO PRESS

The

Canadian Political Science Association

President, G. A. ELLIOTT

Past Presidents Elected Members of the I. D. GIBSON G. E. BRITNELL Vice-Presidents I. J. DEUTSCH A. FAUCHER J. E. HODGETTS D. B. MARSH Secretary-Treasurer H. C. EASTMAN Assistant Secretary-Treasurer Mrs. JOYCE WRY Representative Member on C.S.S.R.C.

A. BRADY

D. G. ANGLIN Mrs. DORIS BOYLE I. G. EAYRS J. F. GRAHAM E. J. HANSON R. W. JAMES R. W. LAWSON K. D. MCRAE J. MEISEL I. PARIZEAU A. E. SAFARIAN A. D. Scott D. N. SOLOMON E. A. WALTON

Executive Council

Representatives of the Board of Editors of the Journal J. H. DALES J. E. HODGETTS

The Canadian Political Science Association was founded in 1913, and reorganized in 1929. The object of the Association is to encourage the investigation and study of economic, political, and social problems in Canada.

> Annual Subscription \$6.00 Student Subscription \$3.00

The Association welcomes as members all who are interested in its objects. Members receive a copy of The Canadian Journal of Economics and Political Science, published quarterly for the Association by the University of Toronto Press.

> Subscriptions should be sent to the Secretary-Treasurer, Canadian Political Science Association, 273 Bloor St. West, Toronto 5, Canada