Canadian Journal of Economics and Political Science

Volume 8 1942

Reprinted with the permission of the original publisher by
Periodicals Service Company
Germantown, NY
2013

Printed on acid-free paper.

This reprint was reproduced from the best original edition copy available.

NOTE TO THE REPRINT EDITION:

In some cases full page advertisements which do not add to the scholarly value of this volume have been omitted.

As a result, some reprinted volumes may have irregular pagination.

The Canadian Journal of Economics Revue canadienne d'Economique and Political Science et de Science politique

VOLUME / TOME VIII
1942

Reprinted by

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO PRESS

1968

The Canadian Political Science Association

President, C. A. DAWSON

Pasi Presidents	
W. C. CLARK H. MICHELL	
W. Dunillant	

Vice-Presidents
A. BRADY
C. A. CURTIS
G. A. ELLIOTT
J. E. LATTIMER

Secretary-Treasurer C. A. ASHLEY

Managing Editor
V. W. BLADEN

Elected Members of the Executive Council E. F. BEACH R. B. BRYCE J. A. CORRY A. W. CURRIE C. L. M. DOUGLAS V. C. FOWKE W. B. HARVEY A. R. M. LOWER J. A. MACDONALD C. B. MACPHERSON S. R. NOBLE L. RASMINSKY MISS M. F. TIMLIN C. W. TOPPING W. J. WAINES

The Canadian Political Science Association was founded in 1913, and reorganized in 1929. The object of the Association is to encourage the investigation and study of economic, political, and social problems in Canada. The Association does not assume a partisan position. All shades of political and economic opinion are represented in its membership.

Annual Subscription \$3.00 Student Subscription \$1.50

The Association welcomes as members all who are interested in its objects. Members receive a copy of THE CANADIAN JOURNAL OF ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE, published quarterly for the Association by the University of Toronto Press.

Arrangements have been made for a combined subscription to this Association and to the Canadian Historical Association at a reduced rate of \$4.00 a year. Members of the Association may subscribe to the Royal Economic Society through the Association at a reduced rate of \$3.00 a year.

Communications, including applications for membership, should be addressed to the Secretary-Treasurer,

C. A. ASHLEY, 273 Bloor St. W., Toronto, Ontario.

Printed in U.S.A.

THE CANADIAN JOURNAL OF ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE

EDITORS

J. A. CORRY, Queen's University

R. MacG. Dawson, University of Toronto

G. A. Elliott, University of Alberta

W. B. HURD, McMaster University

Managing Editor: V. W. BLADEN, University of Toronto

EDITORIAL ADVISORY BOARD

C. A. DAWSON (Chairman)

C. A. ASHLEY
E. F. BEACH
A. BRADY
R. B. BRYCE
W. C. CLARK
A. W. CURRIE
C. A. CURTIS

C. L. M. Douglas V. C. Fowke W. B. Harvey J. E. Lattimer

A. R. M. LOWER
J. A. MACDONALD
C. B. MACPHERSON

H. MICHELL S. R. NOBLE L. RASMINSKY MISS M. F. TIMLIN C. W. TOPPING W. J. WAINES

Editorial Office, Baldwin House, University of Toronto Business Office, The University of Toronto Press

All correspondence relating to the business of the Canadian Political Science Association should be addressed to the Secretary-Treasurer, 273 Bloor St. W., Toronto, Ontario