Association News

Proposed Amendments to Current Constitution

Submitted by the APSA Council

Article III

Strike out Sections 3, 4, 5, 6.

Substitute the following Section 1. Any person sharing the purpose of this Association may become a member upon payment of annual dues. All classes of dues, including life memberships and reduced annual dues for retired members and students, shall be set by the Council.

Statement:

At its meeting on June 14, 1970, the Council approved a new dues structure for Association members which will produce, it hopes, sufficient income to meet the rising costs of association activities. This new dues structure will go into effect if the new constitution is adopted. This amendment to the existing constitution is presented in order to authorize, if passed, a new dues system whether or not the new constitution is adopted. This amendment strikes from the present constitution any specific figures on membership dues and thus leaves to the Council the task of setting dues for the various categories of members.

The proposed new dues structure, to go into effect if this amendment or the new constitution is adopted, is as follows:

Membership Category	Dues
Regular	
Annual Income	
Under \$12,000	\$20
\$12,000-\$15,000	\$25
Over \$15,000	\$30
Student and Retired	\$10
Family	\$5
Life	\$1,000
Institutional (effective April,	
1970, includes APSR and PS)	\$35

The expense of conducting current activities of the Association has been rising steadily in the last few years. At the same time, the Association has been taking on new responsibilities and programs such as the publication of *PS*, and the establishment of committees in the areas of Women, Blacks, Chicanos, Undergraduate Education, Pre-Collegiate Education, Graduate Education, Professional Ethics and Academic Freedom. Other projects that are presently in the planning stage, such as the publi-

cation of a new Directory, the development of an enlarged professional placement service, and the expansion of the *Review* will further swell the size of future budgets. The Council feels that in the light of rising costs, expanding activities and future program commitments, it has no alternative but to seek additional resources through an increase in dues. The present dues structure was inserted in the present constitution in 1959 and has not been changed since.

Association News

Proposed Amendments to Current Constitution

Submitted by Donald G. Herzberg, et al.

Article VII, Section 1 of the Constitution:

Add the following italicized wording:

The membership of the Association duly assembled in the Annual Business Meeting or in a special meeting duly called resolves policy questions brought to it, and may confirm, revise, or repeal the action of the Council, the Executive Committee or any officer. Whenever forty (40) percent or more of those present and voting at the Annual Business Meeting vote in opposition to any policy question, the question shall be submitted to the entire membership in a mailed, secret ballot under conditions prescribed by the Council and shall be determined by a majority of those voting by mail.

Article VIII shall be changed to conform to this amendment, adding the italicized wording as follows:

All resolutions shall be referred to the Council for its recommendations before submission to the vote of the Association at its Annual Business Meeting. Notice of this provision shall be given to the members of the Association in advance of the Annual Meeting. Whenever forty (40) percent or more of those present and voting at the Annual Business Meeting vote in opposition to any resolution, the question shall be submitted to the entire membership in a mailed, secret ballot under conditions prescribed by the Council and shall be determined by a majority of those voting by mail.

Statement:

In view of the continued broadening of the base of participation in the affairs of the American Political Science Association, this amendment is resubmitted after taking into account the suggestions made from the floor of the Business Meeting last year. In the judgment of the Ad Hoc Committee for Responsible APSA Governance, the amendment as modified by those criticisms now becomes an essential part of the democratization of the Association.

Donald G. Herzberg P. M. Sniderman Warren E. Miller Philip Siegelman Jose Sorzano Karl H. Cerny Roman Debicki James H. Wolfe John T. Calkins Willard J. Barber Conley H. Dillon Don C. Piper Richard M. Scammon John M. Berry Chester B. Earle Jerome J. Hanus Morley Segal Alan Rosenthal Denise Wiens Brian A. McGrath Eric C. Bellquist D. B. Hardeman Warren Butler L. Eugene Hedberg Elmer Plischke Herbert McClosky Martin Landau Mark F. Ferber Dennis J. Vodarsik John H. McDonough George Carey Ulrich S. Allers John Rouse Benjamin W. Cotten Franklin L. Burdette

Eldon Lanning Charles M. Lichenstein John G. Stewart Robert E. Cleary Valerie A. Earle Lowell H. Hattery John H. Runyon Michael P. Balzano, Jr. James E. King John C. Blydenburgh Howard R. Penniman William V. O'Brien Horace V. Harrison Raymond V. Humphreys George L. Zarur and others

426 PS Summer 1970

Submitted by William Connolly, et al.

Article III

Title amended to: "Association Membership and Subscription to the Association Journal."

Substitute the following Section 7: Each member, other than a Family Member, shall be entitled to subscribe to the *American Political Science Review* at a rate discounted by 20% of the regular subscription rate."

Add the following Section 8:

The regular subscription rate of the American Political Science Review will be set at the Annual Business Meeting. Non-members may subscribe to the journal by paying this fee.

Article VI

Title amended to: "Appointive and Editorial Officers."

Delete references to Editor in Section 1.

Substitute the following Section 2:

The Editorial Board of the American Political Science Review shall consist of nine members elected for three year terms, three members elected each year. Nominations for this office can be made by the Executive Committee and/or by petition of fifty Association members. The election shall be conducted by a mail ballot of the entire membership. Each Association member shall be entitled to cast a total number of votes equal to the number of positions to be filled. Each member shall be entitled to distribute his vote either equally among a set of nominees or in unequal whole numbers among a set of nominees. The nominees ranking highest in the poll in a number equal to the number of offices shall be declared elected.

Substitute the following Section 3:

The Editorial Board of the American Political Science Review shall elect a Managing Editor, not necessarily a member of the Board, to serve a three year term, renewable once at the discretion of the Board.

Add the following Section 4:

The above procedures will take effect by September, 1972. The present Editorial Board and Managing Editor will serve until these procedures are implemented.

Substitute existing Section 3 as a new Section 5.

William E. Connolly **Robert Stauffer** Harry J. Friedman Harry Scoble Janel Hoel Robert L. Hill Ron Hart Martin L. Brownstein Donald Chamberlayne Henry Wulf Loren P. Beth Robert Parks Dean Alfange, Jr. Carl W. Chilson Peter J. Flies David Kettler John R. Champlin R. William Liddle Sanford Levinson Robert E. Bedeski Donald L. Robinson Philip Green Lewis Lipsitz Steven J. Baker M. Stephan Baranov

Fred A. Kramer Oliver Lee John F. Wilson J. C. Ries James Lamare Marilyn Brookes James Elden John J. Fitzgerald Stanley Bach Paul L. Savage Peter E. Poor Harvey Stone Karl Ryavec Ferenc A. Vali R. John Howe James H. Andrews W. Andrew Axdine William E. Nelson, Jr. David R. Roth Joel Ann Todd Peter Rowe Alan Wolfe Robert A. Shanley B. James Kweder Glenn Gardner