Canadian Journal of Economics and Political Science

Volume 1 1935

Reprinted with the permission of the original publisher by Periodicals Service Company Germantown, NY 2013

Printed on acid-free paper.

This reprint was reproduced from the best original edition copy available.

NOTE TO THE REPRINT EDITION: In some cases full page advertisements which do not add to the scholarly value of this volume have been omitted. As a result, some reprinted volumes may have irregular pagination. The Canadian Journal of Economics Revue canadienne d'Economique

and Political Science

et de Science politique

VOLUME / TOME I

1935

Reprinted by

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO PRESS

1968

The Canadian Political Science Association

President, R. H. COATS

Past Presidents Elected Members of the Executive Council STEPHEN LEACOCK D. A. MACGIBBON H. F. ANGUS A. B. BALCOM ALEX. BRADY Vice-Presidents W. C. CLARK BROOKE CLAXTON I. C. HEMMEON C. A. CURTIS W. C. KEIRSTEAD G. A. ELLIOTT H. LAUREYS J. C. ELLIOTT W. A. MACKINTOSH H. A. LOGAN R. McQUEEN A. E. RICHARDS Secretary-Treasurer K. W. TAYLOR F. H. UNDERHILL V. W. BLADEN

The Canadian Political Science Association was founded in 1913, and reorganised in 1929. The object of the Association is to encourage the investigation and study of economic, political and social problems in Canada. The Association does not assume a partisan position. All shades of political and economic opinion are represented in its membership.

Annual Subscription \$3.00 Life Membership - \$50.00

The Association welcomes as members all who are interested in its objects. Members receive a copy of The CANADIAN JOURNAL OF ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE, published quarterly for the Association by the University of Toronto Press, and also a copy of any other publications which the Association may publish during the year.

The Association holds each year, usually for two days in May, a meeting at which papers are read and discussed. These papers have been published and can be obtained from the Association. A leaflet describing the contents of these volumes and the prices will be mailed on request.

Communications, including applications for membership, should be addressed to the Secretary-Treasurer

V. W. BLADEN, University of Toronto, 273 Bloor St. W., Toronto, Ontario.

Printed in U.S.A.

THE CANADIAN JOURNAL OF ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE

EDITORS

C. A. CURTIS, Queen's University H. A. INNIS, University of Toronto R. A. MACKAY, Dalhousie University F. R. Scott, McGill University

Managing Editor: V. W. BLADEN, University of Toronto

EDITORIAL ADVISORY BOARD

R. H. COATS (Chairman)

H. F. Angus A. B. Balcom A. Brady W. C. Clark Brooke Claxton G. A. Elliott J. C. Elliott J. C. Hemmeon W. C. Keirstead H. Laureys Stephen Leacock H. A. Logan D. A. MacGibbon W. A. Mackintosh R. McQueen A. E. Richards K. W. Taylor F. H. Underhill

Business Manager: R. J. HAMILTON

All correspondence relating to the business of the Canadian Political Science Association should be addressed to the Secretary-Treasurer, 273 Bloor St. W., Toronto, Ontario

All correspondence relating to the Journal should be addressed to the University of Toronto Press