MRS NEWS

## Ginsberg Accepts OSA/MRS Fellowship Position with Rep. Berman



Susan Ginsberg

Susan Ginsberg, the Optical Society of America/Materials Research Society Congressional Science and Engineering Fellow for 2000–2001\*, has accepted a position with U.S. Representative Howard L. Berman (D-Calif.). Rep. Berman is the ranking minority member on the Courts and Intellectual Property Subcommittee of the Judiciary Committee.

Ginsberg expects to be working on intellectual property issues as they relate to high-technology, especially the Internet.

\*See MRS Bulletin, July 2000, page 65.

Issues involving Internet music-listening sites such as Napster and MP3.com, and Internet privacy are expected to come before the 107th Congress, as well as possible amendments to the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998. Ginsberg may also work on export controls of technology and consider intellectual-property questions in distance learning.

Ginsberg said, "Congressman Berman's office gives me the opportunity to work on crucial issues affecting the future of the United States' use of technology and biotechnology by estabilishing legal parameters governing intellectual property. Whether or not human genes can be privately owned, how we should protect intellectual property in the age of the Internet and yet not stifle innovation and growth...these are fascinating questions to me."

Previous MRS/OSA Congressional Fellows Arun Seraphin (1999–2000), Merrilea Mayo (1998–1999), and Kelly Kirkpatrick (1995–1996) worked in the office of Sen. Joseph Lieberman (D-Conn.). Congressional Fellows Michal Freedhoff (1996–1997) did her tenure with U.S. Rep. Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.) and Brian Holloway (1997-1998) did his with Sen. John D. Rockefeller (D-W.Va.).

## MRS Members Receive Honors and Awards



Rustum Roy, Evan Pugh Professor Emeritus of the Solid State and Professor Emeritus of Geochemistry at The Pennsylvania State University, has been elected as a foreign member of the Russian Academy of

Sciences. He will be inducted in a ceremony this Fall. Roy is recognized as a chemist for his leadership in inorganic materials synthesis and processing.



Mildred S. Dresselhaus, director of the Office of Science of the U.S. Department of Energy, will receive the National Materials Advancement Award, presented by the Federation of Materials Societies, "for advancing

the science and engineering of materials through research, teaching, mentorship and leadership in universities, government, and professional societies, over more than 40 years." She was presented with the award during a reception at the National Press Club in Washington DC on December 6.

...for information available via the internet that is of interest to the Materials Research Community...



## **Materials Information**

includes

- ▼ Patents—Intellectual Property Network from IBM
- Atomic and Plasma physics databases from the Weizmann Institute
- ▼ ENGnetBASE—Engineering Database Online
- ▼ 3-D Molecular Structures Library at New York University



Jagdish (Jay) Narayan, University Distinguished Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at North Carolina State University, is the recipient of the 2000 Honorary Membership Award,

the highest honor bestowed by the Materials Research Society of India. Narayan has been honored for his lifetime achievements in advanced materials and processing of novel materials with unique properties.

For News and Information about the Materials Research Society, access WWW.IMPS.OPG