## Editors' Notes

As announced at the September annual meeting and in the December issue of the JOURNAL, Donald N. McCloskey, Professor of Economics and History at the University of Iowa, will succeed Rondo Cameron as co-editor of the JOURNAL effective with the September 1981 issue. In fact, Professor McCloskey is already at work selecting manuscripts for publication in that and succeeding issues.

Richard Sylla, of North Carolina State University, will remain as co-editor for another three-year term, and all article manuscripts to be considered for publication in the JOURNAL should be directed to The Editors, JOURNAL OF ECONOMIC HISTORY, Department of Economics and Business, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC 27650. Books for review should be sent to The Editors, JOURNAL OF ECONOMIC HISTORY, Schaeffer Hall, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA 52240.

During the calendar year 1980 the editors received 107 article manuscripts. At the end of the year, 15 had been accepted for publication, 75 had been rejected, and the remainder were under editorial consideration. Volume XL (1980), exclusive of the *Tasks* (March) issue, carried 19 regular articles and 8 research notes and review articles. In the last year the elapsed time between receipt of a manuscript and the decision to accept or reject it averaged approximately nine weeks, although there was substantial variation about the mean. Generally speaking, the longer the elapsed time, the greater the probability that the manuscript in question will be published. The time between acceptance and publication is generally less than six months, of which three months are taken by the printer.

For helping them maintain this timetable, the editors are greatly indebted to the regular members of the editorial board, and to the following outside referees:

Stephen Allen, North Carolina State University

Jeremy Atack, University of Illinois

David S. Ball, North Carolina State University

Elena Berger, Baltimore, Maryland

D.C. Coleman, Pembroke College, Cambridge

Stanley Chapman, University of Nottingham

Phyllis Deane, Faculty of Economics, Cambridge University

Trevor J.O. Dick, University of Lethbridge

Scott M. Eddie, University of Toronto

Stanley L. Engerman, University of Rochester

Sir Moses Finley, Cambridge University

David Flath, North Carolina State University

Michael W. Flinn, University of Edinburgh

Robert E. Gallman, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

George Grantham, McGill University

Thomas Grennes, North Carolina State University

Gerald Gunderson, Trinity College, Hartford

C. Knick Harley, University of Western Ontario

Paul Hohenberg, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

James C. Ingram, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

John A. James, University of Virginia

Arthur M. Johnson, University of Maine

Steven Kaplan, Cornell University

Kemal Karpat, University of Wisconsin

Charles P. Kindleberger, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Stanley Lebergott, Wesleyan University

Donald N. McCloskey, University of Iowa

Paul McGouldrick, State University of New York, Binghamton

Peter Mathias, All Souls' College, Oxford

Joel Mokyr, Northwestern University
Walter C. Neale, University of Tennessee
Pamela Nickless, University of Kentucky
Alan L. Olmstead, University of California, Davis
Dwight Perkins, Harvard University
Sidney Pollard, University of Sheffield
Barbara Solow, Boston University
John TePaske, Duke University
Gabriel Tortella-Casares, Universidad de Alcalà
Thomas Weiss, University of Kansas
Elmus Wicker, Indiana University

## COMMITTEE ON RESEARCH IN ECONOMIC HISTORY

The Board of Trustees of the Economic History Association raised the amount of funds available to the Committee in 1981 from \$4,000 to \$6,000. Applications for grants-in-aid from the Committee are due 1 April 1981. All applications should be submitted to The Secretary, Economic History Association. P.O. Box 3630 Greenville, Wilmington, DE 19807.

## **EHA ANNUAL MEETING**

The 1981 annual meeting of the Association will take place September 17-19 in St. Louis. Allan G. Bogue, President-elect, is serving as program chairman. Information regarding participation in the program was published in the October 1980 issue of the EHA Newsletter. Convenors of the dissertation session are Richard C. Sutch (University of California, Berkeley) and David R. Ringrose (University of California, San Diego). Dissertations must be received not later than May 15, 1981. All correspondence and dissertations should be addressed to Professor Sutch, Department of Economics, University of California, Berkeley, CA 94720.