American Society for Legal History

The American Society for Legal History is a nonprofit membership organization dedicated to fostering scholarship, teaching, and study concerning the law and institutions of all legal systems, both Anglo-American and international. Founded in 1956, the Society sponsors this journal and Studies in Legal History, a series of book-length monographs available to ASLH members at substantial prepublication discounts. In addition, the Society holds an annual meeting to promote scholarship and interaction among teachers, practitioners, and students interested in legal history, and publishes a semiannual newsletter reporting developments in the field. For further information concerning the Society, please write: Walter F. Pratt, Jr., Notre Dame Law School, PO Box R, Notre Dame, IN 46556-0780.

To become a member of the Society, please complete and mail the application to University of Illinois Press, 1325 S. Oak Street, Champaign, IL 61820.

Membership Application		
Please check appropriate membership below:		
	U.S. Member	Non-U.S. Member
Regular Member, with an annual incom	ie	
below \$50,000	\$ 60.00	\$ 70.00
\$50,000 - \$74,999	\$ 70.00	\$ 80.00
\$75,000 - \$99,999	\$ 80.00	\$ 90.00
\$100,000 - \$124,999	\$ 90.00	\$100.00
\$125,000 - 149,999	\$100.00	\$110.00
\$150,000 and above	\$125.00	\$135.00
Student Member	\$ 20.00	\$ 30.00
Emeritus	\$ 20.00	\$ 30.00
Life Member	\$1000.00	\$1000.00
Sponsor	\$ 250.00	\$ 260.00
Institution	\$ 100.00	\$ 110.00
Please remit amount due in U.S. dollars drawn on a U.S. bank, payable to:		
University of Illinois Press.		
Total Amt: \$Visa/M	C #	
Acct Name:	Exp Date:	
Signed:		
Name:	Institution:	
Address:		
City		
Phone (Home):	(Office):	
Fax: E-mail:		

American Society for Legal History

Officers, 2005

Harry N. Scheiber University of California, Berkeley President Charles Donahue, Jr. Harvard University President-elect Walter F. Pratt, Jr.

Notre Dame Law School
Secretary-Treasurer

Board of Directors

Stuart Banner University of California, Los Angeles

Thomas Garden Barnes University of California, Berkeley

Richard B. Bernstein New York Law School

Lyndsay Campbell (Graduate Student Representative) University of California, Berkeley Barry Cushman *University of Virginia*

Laura F. Edwards

Duke University

Thomas P. Gallanis *Washington and Lee University*

Robert Gordon (Immediate Past-President) Yale University

Philip Hamburger *University of Chicago*

William P. LaPiana New York Law School Victoria D. List
Washington & Jefferson
College

Jim Oldham

Georgetown Law Center Reva Siegel

Yale University

David Seipp
Boston University

Barbara Y. Welke *University of Minnesota*

James Q. Whitman *Yale University*

Publications Committee

Bruce H. Mann, Chair University of Pennsylvania Law School

Adrienne Dale Davis University of North Carolina School of Law

Daniel R. Ernst Georgetown Law Center Cynthia Herrup

Duke University

David Lieberman University of California-Berkeley, School of Law

Linda Przybyszewski University of Cincinnati David Tanenhaus University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Christopher Waldrep San Francisco State University

John Fabian Witt Columbia Law School

Fellows of the American Society for Legal History

Honorary Fellows Morris S. Arnold Morris Cohen Lawrence M. Friedman Richard Helmholz

Corresponding Fellows
J. H. Baker
Raoul C. Van Caenegem
Ennio Cortese

Ennio Cortese Robert Feenstra Harold M. Hyman Stanley N. Katz Leonard W. Levy John T. Noonan, Jr. Kathryn T. Preyer

André Gouron Paolo Grossi Peter Landau Hector L. MacQueen Stroud F. C. Milsom John Philip Reid Harry N. Scheiber A. W. B. Simpson W. Alan J. Watson

Kjell Modéer Peter G. Stein Michael Stolleis André Tunc



0738-2480(200521)23:1;1-A