Censure List from the AAUP

nvestigations by the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) of the administrations of the institutions listed below show that, as evidenced by a past violation, they are not observing the generally recognized principles of academic freedom and tenure approved by this Association, the Association of American Colleges and Universities, and more than 200 other professional and educational organizations which have endorsed the 1940 Statement of Principles on Academic Freedom and Tenure.

This list is published for the purpose of informing Association members, the profession at large, and the public that unsatisfactory conditions of academic freedom and tenure have been found to prevail at these institutions. Names are placed on or removed from this censure list by vote of the Association's annual meeting.

Placing the name of an institution on this list does not mean that censure is visited either upon the whole of the institution or upon the faculty, but specifically upon its present administration. The term "administration" includes the administrative officers and the governing board of the institution. This censure does not affect the eligibility of nonmembers for membership in the Association, nor does it affect the individual rights of members at the institution in question.

Members of the Association have often considered it to be their duty, in order to indicate their support of the principles violated, to refrain from accepting appointment to an institution so long as it remains on the censure list. Since circumstances differ widely from case to case, the Association does not assert that such an unqualified obligation exists for its members; it does urge that, before accepting appointments, they seek information on present conditions of academic freedom and tenure from the Association's Washington office and prospective departmental colleagues. The Association leaves it to the discretion of the individual, possessed of the facts, to make the proper decision.

Institutions are listed in chronological order according to when their administrations were placed on the censure list. The list contains only administrations which are still under censure (many others have been removed from the list after improving their practices and procedures). Reports through 2009 were published in the AAUP Bulletin or Academe, and the issue of publication is indicated in the "Report Published" column. Starting in 2010, reports were published first on the AAUP website, in the month and year indicated in the "Report Published" column, with print publication following in the next issue of the Bulletin of the AAUP. In rare cases, a supplemental report has been issued after the initial report. Visit www. aaup.org/our-programs/academic-freedom/censure-list for more details and reports.

INSTITUTION NAME, STATE, AND YEAR CENSURED

Grove City College (PA), 1963 Frank Phillips College (TX), 1969 Concordia Seminary (MO), 1975 Murray State University (KY), 1976 State University of New York (NY), 1978 Phillips Community College of University of Arkansas (AR), 1978

Nichols College (MA),1980 Yeshiva University (NY), 1982 American International College(MA), 1983 Metropolitan Community College (MO), 1984 Talladega College (AL), 1986 Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico (PR), 1987 Husson University (ME), 1987 Hillsdale College (MI), 1988 Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary (NC), 1989 The Catholic University of America (DC), 1990 Dean College (MA), 1992 Baltimore City Community College (MD), 1992 Loma Linda University (CA), 1992 Clarkson College (NE), 1993 North Greenville College (SC), 1993 Savannah College of Art and Design (GA), 1993 University of Bridgeport (CT), 1994 Benedict College (SC), 1994 Bennington College (VT), 1995 Alaska Pacific University (AK), 1995 National Park Community College (AR), 1996 Saint Meinrad School of Theology (IN), 1997 Minneapolis College of Art and Design (MN), 1997 Brigham Young University (UT), 1998 University of the District of Columbia (DC), 1998 Lawrence Technological University (MI), 1998 Johnson & Wales (RI), 1999 Albertus Magnus College (CT) 2000 Charleston Southern University (SC), 2001 University of Dubuque (IA), 2002 Meharry Medical College (TN), 2005 University of the Cumberlands (KY), 2005 Virginia State University (VA), 2005 Bastyr University (WA), 2007 Cedarville University(OH), 2009 Nicholls State University (LA), 2009 North Idaho College (ID), 2009 Stillman College (AL), 2009 Clark Atlanta University (GA), 2010 University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston (TX), 2010 Bethune Cookman University (FL), 2011 Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge (LA), 2012 Northwestern State University of Louisiana (LA), 2012 Southeastern Louisiana University (LA), 2012 National Louis University (Illinois) (IL), 2013 Southern University, Baton Rouge (LA), 2013 Northeastern Illinois University (IL) 2014

CAUT CENSURE LIST

For information on the censure policy from the Canadian Association of University Teachers (CAUT), please visit http://www. caut.ca