

Nendeln/Liechtenstein

1968

https://doi.org/10.1017/S0080445200001198 Published online by Cambridge University Press

The Royal Musical Association

COUNCIL

President

PROFESSOR J. A. WESTRUP

Past President FRANK HOWES, C.B.E.

Vice-Presidents

W. GREENHOUSE ALL1PROFESSOR PATRICK HADLEYSIR THOMAS ARMSTRONGPROFESSOR HERBERT HOWELLS,SIR ERNEST BULLOCK, C.V.O.C.B.E.EDRIC CUNDELL, C.B.E.CECIL OLDMAN, C.B., C.V.O.

Ordinary Members of Council

†ERIC BLOM, C.B.E. CAPT. EVELYN BROADWOOD, M.C. THURSTON DART MISS KATHARINE EGGAR BRIAN FAGAN PROFESSOR IVOR KEYS A. HYATT KING PROFESSOR ANTHONY LEWIS HAROLD RUTLAND MISS SEYMOUR WHINYATES, O.B.E.

Honorary Treasurer CEDRIC H. GLOVER

Secretary NIGEL FORTUNE Honorary Solicitor BRIG. H. A. F. CREWDSON

Honorary Auditors BAGSHAW AND COMPANY

Honorary Editor FREDERICK STERNFELD

1959

¹⁹⁵⁸⁻¹⁹⁵⁹ Proceedings

Contents

The Frankfort Group SIR THOMAS ARMSTRONG page 1

Concert Life in Eighteenth Century England STANLEY SADIE page 17

Domestic Music in England 1800-1860 NICHOLAS TEMPERLEY page 31

> The Operas of Leoš Janáček DESMOND SHAWE-TAYLOR page 49

Recent Trends in Ethnomusicology K. P. WACHSMANN page 65

> Purcell's Chamber Music THURSTON DART page 81

Handel and the Aria ANTHONY LEWIS page 95

85TH SESSION

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

The Royal Musical Association

FOUNDED 28 MAY 1874 (INCORPORATED 1904) For the investigation and discussion of subjects connected with the Art and Science of Music

Members may submit suggestions for papers on subjects of which they have specialist knowledge. Such suggestions should be addressed to the Hon. Editor at The Faculty of Music, 33 Holywell, Oxford

> Secretary: Dr. Nigel Fortune, 44 Philip Victor Road, Handsworth, Birmingham, 21

Hon. Treasurer: Cedric H. Glover, Esq., 35 Prince Albert Road, London, N.W.8

Printed in Germany

Lessing-Druckerei Wiesbaden