EDITORIAL BOARD

Executive Editors

R. WATLING Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh A. E. H. EMERY University of Edinburgh

J. S. BECK University of Dundee

W. C. BOWMAN University of Strathclyde

J. J. CONNELL Aberdeen

B. D. HARRISON Scottish Crop Research Institute, Invergowrie

R. C. KIRKWOOD University of Strathclyde

J. A. McFadzean Rhone-Poulenc Ltd, Dagenham, Essex

C. D. WATERSTON

General Secretary

Royal Society of Edinburgh

A. D. McIntyre
DAFS Marine Laboratory
Aberdeen

M. PEAKER
Hannah Research Institute
Ayr

J. A. RAVEN University of Dundee

N. F. ROBERTSON Walkerburn

J. A. STRONG Edinburgh

R. J. WHEATER Royal Zoological Society of Scotland

W. DUNCAN

Executive Secretary

Royal Society of Edinburgh

Publications Secretary, Royal Society of Edinburgh: E. A. INGPEN

Copyright

© 1989 The Royal Society of Edinburgh and the authors of individual papers.

It is the policy of the Royal Society of Edinburgh not to charge any royalty for the production of a single copy of any one article made for private study or research. Specific permission will not be required for photocopying multiple copies of copyright material, to be used for *bona fide* educational purposes, provided this is done by a member of the staff of the university, school or other comparable institution, for distribution without profit to student members of that institution and provided the copies are made from the original journal. Requests for the copying or reprinting of any article for any other purpose should be sent to the Royal Society of Edinburgh, 22/24 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PQ.