the 1977 Meeting with the results of sections organized for the forthcoming Meeting.

There was also a discussion of the possibility of charging for courtesy listings of unaffiliated groups in the APSA Program. Various suggestions were made as to how this might be handled, and the National Office was requested to bring in a proposal to the May Council meeting.

### **Association Representative**

Greenstein moved that Clement E. Vose be reappointed as the Association's representative on the Archive Advisory Council of the U.S. National Archives and Records Service. The motion was approved without objection. The Council also agreed that Clement E. Vose should be funded to attend a meeting of the joint Committee of Historians and Archivists in Chicago, Illinois on March 18-19, and report back to the Council on further ways in which the Association should respond to issues in the growing area of preservation and access to documents.

It was agreed that the Council will meet on May 20-21 in Washington, D.C.

Fred I. Greenstein, Secretary

# Canadian Parliamentary Intern and U.S. Congressional Fellow Exchange

A highly successful exchange between the Canadian Parliament and the United States Congress was recently completed by legislative interns serving in programs sponsored by their respective national political science associations.

The Parliamentary Intern Program, under the sponsorship of the Canadian Political Science Association; and the Congressional Fellowship Program of the American Political Science Association, are both designed to provide young scholars, journalists and (in the case of the U.S. Program) federal civil servants a practical educational setting for improving their understanding of the legislative process. Interns and Fellows serve as legislative aides in the Parliament and Congress, in addition to participating in numerous seminars during the course of a year.

With the support of grants from the Canadian Department of External Affairs and the U.S. Department of State, each Program hosted for a delegation from its counterpart a five-day visit to its capital city. The Canadian interns journeyed to Washington, D.C. during the week of February 28-March 4 for a series of meetings with officials from the Canadian Embassy, State Department, White House and various news media, as well as numerous members and staff in the House and Senate. A delegation of Congressional Fellows returned the visit to Ottawa on April 18-23. Meetings arranged by the Canadians included discussions with many members of Parliament, Ministry officials and American Embassy representatives. This year for the first time the exchange included a visit to Quebec City, where the Congressional Fellows were guests of the Assemblée Nationale and its speaker, Clément Richard.

Previous exchanges between the two programs occurred in 1973, 1975 and 1976. Participants in the 1977 exchange are listed below:

#### **Canadian Parliamentary Interns**

Marthe BlouinRuth LoiselleBrian CrowleyThomas McCurdyValerie DyerAnna Maria MagnificoJean-Pierre GabouryDavid Rupar(Academic Director)Judy Wasylycia-LeisRoss HornbyLilly Wong

#### **U.S.** Congressional Fellows

Arthur Chapa Shahidul Chowdhury Frederic Clarke James Dietel Elliott Fielder John Hendee Frederic Holborn (Acting Director) Edward Lanpher David Moody Robert Nichols Leonard Parkinson Roland Radloff Samuel Raskin Clark Reid Margaret Richardson Harlan Rosacker Edward Schiffers Henry Shockley James Talbot Frank Turpin Sidney Waldman Marsha Wice

## Tribute to Senator Hubert H. Humphrey

The Association's Congressional Fellowship Program named Senator Hubert H. Humphrey an honorary Congressional Fellow on May 5 during a reception at the Dirksen Senate Office Building. Only two other individuals have been so honored since the program was instituted in 1953: former Secretary of State Dean Acheson and D. B. Hardeman, an aide to former House Speaker Sam Rayburn.

John G. Stewart, Staff Director of the Senate Subcommittee on Science, Space and Technology, who served as a Congressional Fellow with Sen. Humphrey some years ago, presided over the ceremony. William J. Keefe, University of Pittsburgh, a former Chairman of the Program's Advisory Committee, spoke on behalf of the Program. Three former Fellows who had served with the Senator also made brief remarks: Eddie Williams, President of the Joint Center for Political Studies; Julia Wetzel, U.S. Department of Defense; and Mark A. Siegel, Special Assistant to President Carter. Evron M. Kirkpatrick, APSA Executive Director, read the following official citation:

"Hubert Humphrey—as mayor, Senator, Vice President, Presidential candidate, university professor and again as Senator—has an extraordinary and well-known record of creative, innovative, compassionate public service. His