## **Association News**



James D. Savage (right) of the University of California-Berkeley receives the Harold D. Lasswell dissertation award from Robert Jervis, 1987 Program Chair.

Barry Rabe, University of Michigan, the William Anderson Award, for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during 1985 or 1986 in the field of intergovernmental relations, for Functional Federalism and the Management of Federal Programs in Health and Education, submitted by the University of Chicago; dissertation chair, Paul Peterson.

H. W. Perry, Jr., Harvard University, the Edward S. Corwin Award, for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during 1985 or 1986 in the field of public law, for *Deciding to Decide: The Agenda-Setting Process in the United States Supreme Court*, submitted by the University of Michigan; dissertation chairs, Milton Heumann and John Kingdon.

James D. Savage, University of California, Berkeley, the Harold D. Lasswell Award, for best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted in 1985 or 1986 in the field of policy studies, for Balanced Budgets and American Politics, submitted by the University of California, Berkeley; dissertation chair, Nelson W. Polsby.

Douglas J. Macdonald, Colgate University, the Helen Dwight Reid Award, for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted in 1985 or 1986 in the field of international relations, law and politics, for Adventures in Chaos: Reformism in American Foreign Policy, submitted by Columbia University; dis-

sertation chairs, David A. Baldwin and Robert Jervis.

Lawrence Rothenberg, California Institute of Technology, the E. E. Schattschneider Award, for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted in 1985 or 1986 in the field of American government, for *The Politics and Economics of Regulation and Deregulation:*Motor Freight Policy at the Interstate Commerce Commission, submitted by Stanford University; dissertation chair, Terry Moe.

Richard C. Sinopoli, Twentieth Century Fund, the Leo Strauss Award, for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during 1985 or 1986 in the field of political philosophy, for Liberalism, Republicanism and the Constitution: American Citizenship Viewed from the Founding, submitted by New York University; dissertation chair, H. Mark Roelofs.

John Dilulio, Princeton University, the Leonard D. White Award, for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted in 1985 or 1986 in the field of public administration, including broadly related problems of policy formation and administrative theory, for *Governing Prisons: A Study of Correctional Management*, submitted by Harvard University; dissertation chair, James Q. Wilson.

Editor's Note: For the full text of citations, see the Appendix in this issue of PS. Herring's Madison Lecture is reprinted in this issue of PS. For a report on the Gaus Lecture, see accompanying article in this section of PS.

## Glenn R. Parker Receives Legislative Studies Section's CQ Press Award

At a special awards ceremony held on September 4 in conjunction with the American Political Science Association Annual Meeting in Chicago, the Legislative Studies Section of the APSA conferred the 1987 CQ Press Award, and announced the CQ prize committee for 1988.

The CQ Press Award honors the outstanding paper in legislative politics presented at the year's preceding APSA Annual Meeting. The 1987 winner honored was Glenn R. Parker of Florida State University for his 1986 APSA paper, "Is There a Political Life-Cycle in the House?" The prize was decided upon by an LSS committee chaired by Anne H. Hopkins of the University of Tennessee. Other members are Jon R. Bond, Texas A&M University, and Harold D. Clarke, VPI & SU.

In his award winning paper, Glenn R. Parker pointed out that congressional scholars have frequently characterized behavior of congressmen and senators as following a "political lifecycle": legislators shift their attention from constituency responsibilities to legislative ones as they gain leadership responsibilities during the course of their tenure. A major implication of the existence of such a cycle is that constituents suffer, at least in terms of the personal attention of their representative, when the legislator assumes a position of institutional leadership. If such a cycle exists, it could create persisting problems of representation since the attainment of positions of congressional leadership is a goal harbored by most members of Congress, and a large number of whom already hold such leadership positions. Parker's analysis suggests that if a political life cycle ever existed, it no longer survives due to the widespread adoption of attentive home styles during recent decades.

The CQ Press Award is given by the Legislative Studies Section each year to honor outstanding scholarship as reflected in the papers presented at each year's national meeting. Consideration for this prize is not limited to papers presented at panels organized by the Legislative Studies Section or at APSA Legislative Politics panels, but honors the best papers on legislative politics presented at any panel at the APSA meeting.

The 1988 CQ Press Award Committee is chaired by David Brady of Stanford University. Other members are John R. Hibbing of the University of Nebraska, and Keith E. Hamm of Texas A&M University.

The 1988 prize will be announced and conferred at the 1988 Awards Ceremony of the Legislative Studies Section held during and in conjunction with their Annual Meeting of the American Political Science Association in Washington. It will honor the best paper in legislative politics delivered at the 1987 APSA Annual Meeting.

## Maisel, Longley and Collie To Lead Legislative Studies Section

At the Annual Business Meeting of the Legislative Studies Section of the American Political Science Association in Chicago on September 4, 1987, officers were elected to lead the Section for 1987-89. The LSS Chair will be L. Sandy Maisel of Colby College, while the Secretary-Treasurer and Editor of the LSS Newsletter will continue to be Lawrence D. Longley of Lawrence University. Melissa P. Collie of the University of Texas will assume duties as LSS Program Chairman for the coming year, and Catherine E. Rudder of the American Political Science Association and Walter J. Stone of the University of Colorado will serve on the Section's Executive Board.

Other actions at the Legislative Studies Section Annual Meeting included approving steps taken to start a new LSS book series, and appointing Glenn R. Parker,



Glenn R. Parker was awarded the 1987 CQ Press Award by the Legislative Studies Section. Anne H. Hopkins of the University of Tennessee presented the award.