EDITED BY MURRAY D. BATT, MD CHARLES E. EDMISTON, PhD JOHN HEGGERS, PhD

# SHEA News

#### THE SOCIETY FOR HEALTHCARE EPIDEMIOLOGY OF AMERICA

PRESIDENT
PRESIDENT-ELECT
VICE PRESIDENT
PAST PRESIDENT
SECRETARY

William J. Martone, MD/Bethesda, Maryland Robert A. Weinstein, MD/Chicago, Illinois Elias Abrutyn, MD/Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Bryan P. Simmons, MD/Memphis, Tennessee Lindsay E. Nicolle, MD/Winnipeg, Manitoba TREASURER COUNCILOR COUNCILOR COUNCILOR

COUNCILOR

Alan I. Hartstein, MD/Indianapolis, Indiana John W. Froggatt, III, MD/Asheville, North Carolina Edward S. Wong, MD/Richmond, Virginia Barry M. Farr, MD, MSc/Charlottesville, Virginia Martha Tanner, MD/Idaho Falls, Idaho

## SHEA's 1996 Strategic Planning Session

The third Strategic Planning Session was held concurrently with the SHEA Board meeting in Miami, Florida, in January 1996. The planning session was attended by the new officers and councilors, with input from committee chairs and much-appreciated support from Merck. As described by Dr. Martone, the first two planning sessions necessarily focused on the survival functions of the organization. Now that the annual meeting is successful, the courses cosponsored with CDC and AHA are regularized, the journals are in SHEA's control, and the dues structure is more realistic, the board was free to focus on the strategic

vision for SHEA. The details of the mission, values, and opportunities that were identified, as well as threats that were perceived, will appear in the upcoming SHEA Newsletter, along with the objectives that were set and the responsibilities that were assigned.

#### **SHEA Committee Structure**

As an organization of professionals who are busy in their own careers, SHEA is dependent on volunteers to staff and lead its extensive committee structure. At the present time, there are five standing committees of the SHEA Board (membership on standing committees of the board is for a 3-year term): the Annual Meeting Planning Committee, chaired by C. Glen Mayhall; the Education Committee, chaired by Edward S. Wong; the Financial Advisory Committee, chaired by Matthew E. Levinson; the Membership Committee, chaired by

Victoria Fraser; and the Publications Committee, chaired by Eli Abrutyn.

Membership on a Standing
Committee of the President is for a 1year term. Dale Gerding chairs the
Liaison Committee. Under the
umbrella of special projects are the
AIDS/TB Committee, chaired by
Michael Tapper; the Project to
Monitor Indicators, chaired by
Stephen B. Kritchevsky; and the
International Assistance
Subcommittee, chaired by Edward
O'Rourke. Position Paper Working
Groups include the Antibiotics
Working Group, chaired by David

Shlaes; the Critical Care Working Group, chaired by Richard B. Brown; and the Long-Term-Care Working Group, chaired by Lindsay E. Nicolle.

The goals and work of all of these committees will be highlighted during the upcoming months in the SHEA Newsletter. Each committee chairperson would be pleased to hear from SHEA members who would like to be of assistance. The chairpersons' current telephone numbers, fax numbers, and e-mail addresses will be available in the 1996 SHEA Membership Directory, which will be distributed soon.

## SHEA Membership

As the books closed on 1995, SHEA's paid membership exceeded 1,130, of whom 98% were physicians. (This contrasts with a paid membership of 501 at the time of our first strategic planning retreat in 1990). In 1995, Article III of SHEA Bylaws was

amended to allow for invited members (not to exceed 5% of the total membership). These invited members must hold a masters' degree and, in the opinion of the SHEA Board of Trustees, must have made worthwhile contributions to the field

of healthcare epidemiology. Four such members were added to SHEA in 1995. The accomplishments of our invited members will be highlighted in an upcoming issue of the *SHEA Newsletter*.