International Political Science

The Latin American Research Committee Roundtable

Carlos A. Astiz SUNY, Albany

A Round Table sponsored by The Latin American Research Committee, The Legislative Development Committee of the International Political Science Association, and the Candido Mendes University was held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil on August 12-15, 1974. The meeting was chaired by Professor Jean Laponce, President of IPSA, Austin Ranney, President of APSA and Themistocles Cavalcanti, President of the Brazilian Political Science Association.

The following papers were delivered:

Michael L. Mezey, University of Hawaii —
"The Policymaking Role of Legislatures in
Developing Political Systems"

Carlos A. Astiz, SUNY at Albany — "The Current Role of the Brazilian Congress"

Maria Izabel Valadao de Carvalho, Rio de Janeiro Research Institute — "Conflict and Consensus in the Legislature"

Carlos Strasser, Bariloche Foundaiton — "Towards a Basic Concept of Legislative Development"

Robert A. Packenham, Stanford University — "How Legislatures Do and Do Not Help Development: An Approach and Some Hypotheses"

Austin Ranney, University of Wisconsin — "The Vulnerability of Legislatures and Its Significance for Political Development"

Klaus von Beyme, Heidelberg University — "The Role of Parliament in the Modernization Process of West European Countries"

Candido Mendes, Rio de Janeiro Research Institute — "The Brazilian Congress after 1964: A Legislature for Technocracy?" Alexandre de S. C. Barros, Brazilian School of Public Administration — "Bureaucratic Representativeness and Parliamentary Efficiency: A Contradiction?"

The discussants included Samuel Huntington, Harvard University; L. Gray Cowan, SUNY at Albany; Vicente Barretto, Candido Mendes University; Helio Jaguaribe, Rio de Janeiro Research Institute; Paulo Alfonso Martins de Oliveira, Brazilian House of Deputies; Michel Debrun, University of Geneve; Wilson Accioly, Candido Mendes University; Ambassador Roberto de Oliveira Campos, and Brazilian Senators Jose Sarney and Franco Montoro.

African Political Science Association

An African Political Science Association has been established and will hold its first bi-annual Congress in September 1975. Officers of the new Association are:

A. H. Rweyemamu, University of Dar es Salaam - President; Babatunde A. Williams, Lagos University - Deputy President & Vice President for West Africa; N. M. Shamuyarira, University of Dar es Salaam - General Secretary; Negussay Ayele, Haile Selassie I University - Vice President for East Africa; Simbi Mubako, University of Zambia - Vice President for Southern Africa; Owona Joseph, University of Yaounde - Vice President for Central Africa; Abdel Malik Ouda. Cairo University - Vice President for North Africa; Ali Nazrui, University of Michigan -Executive Committee Member; J. Okumu, University of Dar es Salaam - Executive Committee Member; N. M. Shamuyarira, University of Dar es Salaam - General Secretary; Serena Smith - Secretary.

For further information on the Association and its work, write to the African Political Science Association, P.O. Box 35035, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, Africa.