## THE EDINBURGH MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

The Edinburgh Mathematical Society was instituted in 1883 for "the promotion and extension of Mathematical Science, Pure and Applied".

Members may subscribe to the *Proceedings* at a reduced rate. Further information about membership can be obtained from the Secretary.

The Society's address is

The Edinburgh Mathematical Society James Clerk Maxwell Building The King's Buildings Edinburgh EH9 3JZ

## Submission of papers

Papers to be considered for publication should be sent to the Secretary or to an Editor. Manuscripts (2 copies) should be typewritten on A4 paper with double spacing and generous margins. The style and arrangement should conform to current practice in the *Proceedings*. Each manuscript should contain a short abstract of not more than 200 words and also a primary classification number from the American Mathematical Society's 1991 Mathematics Subject Classification Scheme. References, including titles of papers, should be given in the form adopted by *Mathematical Reviews*, footnotes being avoided if possible. Figures should be separated from the text and lettered, ready for photographic reduction; their intended location should be clearly indicated. Manuscripts which are not suitable for submission to the printer will not be accepted. Authors are advised to retain a copy of any material submitted as the Society cannot accept responsibility for any loss.

A proof is supplied once. Authors are particularly requested to correct and return the proof promptly. Excessive corrections may be charged to authors. Fifty free offprints, and additional copies at cost, will be supplied if ordered on a form returned with the proof.

## Addresses of Editors

K. A. Brown Department of Mathematics University of Glasgow University Gardens Glasgow G12 8QW

S. D. Cohen Department of Mathematics University of Glasgow University Gardens Glasgow G12 8QW

T. N. T. Goodman
Department of Mathematics and
Computer Science
University of Dundee
Dundee DD1 4HN

A. A. Lacey
Department of Mathematics
Heriot-Watt University
Riccarton
Edinburgh EH14 4AS

C. M. Campbell Mathematical Institute University of St Andrews North Haugh St Andrews KY16 9SS

T. A. Gillespie
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
University of Edinburgh
The King's Buildings
Edinburgh EH9 3JZ

J. Howie Department of Mathematics Heriot-Watt University Riccarton Edinburgh EH14 4AS

D. Monk Department of Mathematics and Statistics University of Edinburgh The King's Buildings Edinburgh EH9 3JZ