ELECTION OF LEAGUE PRESIDENT AND VICE-PRESIDENTS

On 11 October, at the Twenty-third International Conference of the Red Cross in Bucharest, the Board of Governors of the League of Red Cross Societies elected as President of the League Mr. J. A. Adefarasin, President of the Nigerian Red Cross Society and Chief Justice of the High Court of the State of Lagos.

Mr. Adefarasin's term as President will be for a period of four years and he succeeds Mr. J. Barroso who was the League's Chairman for twelve years.

When taking leave of Mr. Barroso, the Board expressed its profound gratitude to him for having presided with distinction over the work of the League for twelve years and paid tribute to his great dedication.

*

The Vice-Presidents of the League for the coming period were also elected on 11 October by the Board of Governors. The new Vice-Presidents are Dr. F. Stanton (USA), Marchioness Casilda de Silva de Santa Cruz (Spain), Dr. V. A. Baltiyski (USSR), Jonkheer G. Kraijenhoff (the Netherlands), Tunku Tan Sri Mohamed (Malaysia), Mr. R. J. Kane (Canada), Mr. Carraud (France), Dr. B. Raspopović (Yugoslavia).

The International Review of the Red Cross expresses its sincerest congratulations and best wishes to the newly-elected President and Vice-Presidents.