we see devolution or confederation?

Since the sections are such a new phenomenon, predictions are premature (prophecy is not my long suit, anyhow). The APSA Council has recently created a Committee on Organized Sections to monitor the sections; this action indicates, among other things, that the Association is aware of the potential problem. I speculate that we shall soon have a plethora of Organized Sections because forming one is so simple; basically, only 100 members who each agree to pay \$3 per year are needed. I foresee serious potential problems ahead over such matters as allocating convention panel slots between the regular program committee and all of the sections and among the sections of disparate sizes. But since the rules encourage fragmentàtion, confederation does not seem to be a likely structural outcome for the Association.

Whether devolution or confederation would seem a more desirable future is, of course, a value choice. For my part, I think the Organized Sections can play their most useful role as interest groups within the Association. As long as the configuration of power within the APSA is at least reasonably pluralistic, I believe the sections can further both the interests of their members and the interests of the entire profession of political science. A caveat should be mentioned, however. Since the Association has helped to form groups of like-minded scholars and has given them that essential accouterment of modern-day political organization - the mailing list-exercising the option of mass exit from the Association would be feasible for a dissatisfied section. Thus, keeping the sections reasonably content may be an important future challenge for the Association's leaders.

In any event, the proper function of the sections within the APSA is a matter to which both the leaders and the members must begin to devote considerable thought. Based on my experience thus far, I am optimistic about the ability of the sections to contribute to the professional development of their members and about the ability of the Association to adapt creatively to the formation of the Organized Sections.

Samuel P. Huntington Nominated to Be APSA President-Elect

Samuel P. Huntington, Harvard University, has been nominated president-elect of APSA for 1985-86. He would automatically become APSA's president the subsequent year under the Association's constitution. The nomination was made by the 1985 Nominating Committee which was appointed by Association president Richard F. Fenno, Jr. and past president Philip E. Converse.

The Nomination Committee also slated three vice-presidential nominees, Theodore J. Lowi, Cornell University; Dale Rogers Marshall, University of California, Davis; and Donald R. Matthews, University of Washington. Myron Weiner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, is nominated to be secretary. Nominated to be treasurer for 1985-87 is Helen Ingram, University of Arizona.

Eight new members of the 16-member Council were also nominated by the committee to serve a two-year term (1985-87). These nominations are: John W. Kingdon, University of Michigan; Stephen D. Krasner, Stanford University; Paula D. McClain, Arizona State University; Karen O'Connor, Emory University; Carole Pateman, University of Sydney; G. Bingham Powell, Jr., University of Rochester; Kenneth Shepsle, Washington University; and Nancy H. Zingale, College of Saint Thomas.

Under APSA's constitution the preceding nominations are subject to the vote of those members of the Association attending the Annual Business Meeting. If there is a contest for any elected office, an election will be conducted by mail ballot. Ballots will be distributed within 30 days of the Annual Business Meeting by the executive director. They must be returned within 30 days following distribution.

The 1985 Annual Business Meeting rules are printed in the Features section of this issue of *PS*. The rules require that any nominations in addition to those made by the Nominating Committee must be received in writing at the Association's Washington office prior to Monday,



APSA SHORT COURSES

Writing A Research Proposal for the National Science Foundation

Lee Sigelman, National Science Foundation

Wednesday, August 28 9:00 am to 11:30 am

Writing A Research Proposal for the National Endowment for the Humanities

John Walters, National Endowment for the Humanities

Wednesday, August 28 1:00 pm to 3:30 pm

Administrative Law and Political Science

Lief Carter, University of Georgia

Wednesday, August 28 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Reaching New Political Science Students With Television

Public Broadcasting Service, Adult Learning Service and the Annenberg/CPB Project

Wednesday, August 28 1:30 pm to 4:30 pm

see registration form in back of this issue

August 26, 1985, or thereafter at the Association's annual meeting office in the hotel headquarters. All such nominations and certifications must be received at least 24 hours before the session of the Annual Business Meeting in order to include those names on the original nominating document. Specific procedures for offering nominations are indicated in the Annual Business Meeting rules.

Members of the 1985 Nominating Committee are: Fred Greenstein, Princeton University, chair; James A. Caporaso, University of Denver; John Kessel, Ohio State University; Robert D. Putnam, Harvard University; Barbara Sinclair, University of California, Riverside; and Judith Stiehm, University of Southern California.

The current president-elect of APSA is Aaron Wildavsky, University of California, Berkeley. He will become president of the Association after the 1985 Annual Meeting in September.

Other continuing Council members, serv-

ing their second year of a two-year term are: Brian Barry, California Institute of Technology; F. Chris Garcia, University of New Mexico; William R. Keech, University of North Carolina; J. Donald Moon, Wesleyan University; Victor A. Olorunsola, Iowa State University; Norman J. Ornstein, American Enterprise Institute; Benjamin I. Page, University of Texas at Austin; and Bruce M. Russett, Yale University.

Award Offered for Best Graduate Student Paper In Judicial Politics

The Law, Courts and Judicial Process Section is offering an annual award for the best graduate student paper presented at a professional meeting covering law, courts, and the judicial process. The objective of the award is to promote graduate student involvement in the subfield and to encourage presentation of papers by graduate students at profes-



APSA

DEPARTMENTAL SERVICES COMMITTEE

announces a

Roundtable for Department Chairs

or

Recruitment and Retention of Minority Graduate Students in Political Science

Friday, August 30 10:45 am-12:00 pm