AMERICAN ANTIQUITY

VOLUME XI NUMBER 3 JANUARY 1946

PUBLISHED BY THE SOCIETY FOR AMERICAN ARCHAEOLOGY

THE SOCIETY FOR AMERICAN ARCHAEOLOGY OFFICERS

President: CARL E. GUTHIE, New York State Museum, Albany 1, New York.

23

2

20

5

9

5

9

र

- (n)

원 - Ш

U

9

Ø

7

W

দ্য

First Vice-President: James B. Griffin, Museums Building, Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Second Vice-President: GREGORIO HERNANDEZ DE ALBA, Bogotá, Colombia.

Secretary: Waldo R. Wedel, U. S. National Museum, Washington 25, D. C.

Treasurer: Frederick Johnson, Phillips Academy, Andover, Massachusetts.

Editor: Douglas S. Byers, Phillips Academy, Andover, Massachusetts.

Associate Editor: Frank H. H. Roberts, Jr., Bureau of American Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution, Washington 25, D. C.

Assistant Editors: Henry B. Collins, Arctic; E. W. Gifford, Pacific Coast; Paul Reiter, the Southwest; Waldo R. Wedel, the Plains; James B. Griffin, the Northern Mississippi Valley; William A. Ritchie, the Northeast; William S. Webb, the Southeast; Gordon F. Ekholm, Middle America; Gordon R. Willey, South America; Frank H. H. Roberts, Jr., Early Man.

Members of the Council: The President, First Vice-President, Second Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer, Editor, Associate Editor, and Matthew W. Stirling and J. Gilbert McAllister to 1946, J. Otis Brew, and J. Eric S. Thompson to 1947, Eli Lilly and Charles R. Keyes, to 1948, Gordon F. Ekholm and E. W. Gifford to 1949.

AMERICAN ANTIQUITY is printed by the George Banta Publishing Company, 450–454 Ahnaip Street, Menasha, Wisconsin, U.S.A.

Published by the Society for American Archaeology, during the months of January, April, July and October. Subscription by membership, annual dues \$4.00, includes quarterly issues of American Antiquity and other releases, as issued.

Entered as second-class matter July 22, 1935, at the post office at Menasha, Wisconsin, under the Act of March 3, 1879.

Manuscripts and publications for review should be sent to the Editor, Douglas S. Byers.

Subscriptions and orders for back numbers should be addressed to the Treasurer, Frederick Johnson.

Please address all requests for information to the Secretary, Waldo R. Wedel.