Election of President

The Bye-Laws of the College state that the "President shall assume Office at such stage of the Annual General Meeting following the election of the President". Council now receives nominations for the Presidency at its June meeting, rather than its January meeting. This means that nominations will be received from the Membership by the end of July. The election will then be held immediately, with a longer period than usual within which to return ballot papers, to take account of the holiday period. Ballot papers will therefore be returned to the College by the middle of September.

If a second ballot is necessary, this will be completed by mid-October. The announcements of the new President for the following year will be made at the October meeting of Council.

Notice to Fellows and Members

Fellows and Members are reminded of their rights under the Bye-laws and Regulations, as follows.

Bye-Law XI

The President shall be elected annually from among the Fellows.

Regulation XI

- (a) (1) As soon as may be practicable after the first day of June in any year the Council shall hold a nomination meeting and shall ... nominate not less than one candidate and not more than three candidates. ...
- (b) (2) Between the first day of June in any year and the date which is four clear weeks after the nomination meeting of the Council, written nominations accompanied in each case by the nominee's written consent to stand for election, may be lodged with the Registrar provided that each such nomination is supported in writing by not less than twelve Members of the College who are not members of the Council.
- (c) (3) An election by ballot shall be held in accordance with the provisions of the Regulations.

The nominating meeting of Council for the new President will take place on 29 June 1995 and the last date for receiving nominations under (2) above will therefore be 26 July 1995. Dr Fiona Caldicott will be retiring in June 1996.

Irish Division

Miriam Silke has taken up her post as Administrator, Irish Division, The Royal College of Psychiatrists, Whitaker House, 37 Carysfort Road, Blackrock, Co. Dublin (entrance via St John of God's Hospital, Stillorgan) (telephone 01 2781943; fax 01 1781995).