## **Association News**

## Richard Fenno Nominated To Be President-Elect of APSA

Richard F. Fenno, Jr. of the University of Rochester has been nominated presidentelect of APSA for 1983-84. He would automatically become APSA's president the subsequent year under the Association's constitution. The nomination was made by the 1983 Nominating Committee which was appointed by Association President William Riker and past president Seymour Martin Lipset.

The Nominating Committee also slated three vice-presidential nominees, Ada W. Finifter of Michigan State University, James G. March of Stanford University, and James W. Prothro of the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Arend Lijphart of the University of California at San Diego was recommended to be secretary for 1983-84.

The committee selected Susan Welch of the University of Nebraska, Lincoln, to serve as Treasurer. Welch is currently serving as a member of the Council. As Treasurer, she would review and approve the arrangements for the receipt, custody and disbursement of all Association funds and make recommendations of investment policy to the Council.

Eight new members of the 16-member Council were also nominated by the committee to serve a two-year term (1983-85). These nominees are: Charles W. Anderson of the University of Wisconsin, Madison, Morris P. Fiorina from the Center for Advanced Study in Behavioral Science, Helen Ingram of the University of Arizona, Nannerl Keohane of Wellesley College, Michael B. Preston of the University of Illinois at Urbana, Arlene W. Saxonhouse of the University of Michigan, W. Phillips Shively of the University of Minnesota, and Gerald Wright of Indiana University. Bruce Bueno de Mesquita of the University of Rochester has been nominated to serve on the Council for one year (1983-84) to complete the term of Guillermo O'Donnell who has resigned from the Council.

Under APSA's constitution the preceding nominations are subject to the vote of those members of the Association attending the Annual Business Meeting. If there is a contest for any elected office, an election will be conducted by mail ballot. Ballots will be distributed within 30 days of the Annual Business Meeting by the executive director. They must be returned within the 30 days following distribution.

The 1983 Annual Business Meeting rules and the constitution are printed in the Spring 1983 issue of *PS* on pp. 274-85. The rules require that any nominations in addition to those made by the Nominating Committee must be received in writing at the Association's Washington offices prior to Monday, August 29, 1983 or thereafter at the Association's Annual meeting office in the hotel headquarters. All such nominations and certifications must be received at least 24 hours before the session of the Annual Business Meeting in order to include those names on the original nominating document. Specific procedures for offering additional nominations are indicated in the Annual Business Meeting Rules.

The current president-elect of APSA is Philip E. Converse. He will become president of the Association after the 1983 Annual Meeting in September.

The members of the 1983 Nominating Committee are: David R. Mayhew of Yale University (chair), A. F. K. Organski of the University of Michigan, Elinor Ostrom of Indiana University, Stanley Rothman of Smith College, Mildred A. Schwartz of

546 *PS* Summer 1983

the University of Illinois at Chicago, and Kenneth Shepsle of Washington University.  $\hfill \Box$ 

## Sinclair to Head Annual Meeting Plenary Session

There will be a special Saturday evening plenary session at the Annual Meeting on Gender Politics in the 80s. With the failure of ERA, there are a host of questions regarding the status of women, and these will be the focus of the plenary session.

Chairing the session is Barbara Sinclair of the University of California, Riverside, who has authored a book on *The Women's Movement*, now in the third edition, in addition to her extensive work on Congress. U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Abner Mikva, who previously was a member of the U.S. House of Representatives and served on the Judiciary Committee, will provide the perspective of the judicial and legislative branches.

Jean Elshtain of the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, author of *Public Man*, *Private Woman: Women in Social and Political Thought* and editor of *The Family in Political Thought*, will consider the issues from a political theory view. Ruth Mandel, Director of the Center for the American Woman and Politics at the Eagleton Institute of Politics and author of *In the Running: The New Woman Candidate*, will focus on women as political elites.

Virginia Sapiro of the University of Wisconsin, Madison, and author of *The Political Integration of Women: Roles, Socialization, and Politics* as well as the APSA Task Force publication on *Women, Political Action, and Political Participation,* will discuss voting and participation data.

Joyce Hughes will also participate on the panel. She is currently on leave from Northwestern University Law School and is working at the Continental Bank.

Following the plenary session, the Congressional Fellowship Program will host a reception for Judge Mikva, a long-time friend and supporter of the program. All Annual Meeting registrants are cordially invited to the reception.

## Cook and Harris To Be Honored

Samuel DuBois Cook of Dillard University and Charles Wesley Harris of Howard University will be honored by the APSA Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession at APSA's Annual Meeting in Chicago. The committee will bestow plaques on these two scholars at a reception on Friday, September 2, 10:30 p.m., at the Palmer House. All Annual Meeting registrants are welcome to attend.

Cook and Harris are being honored for their contributions to the discipline of political science and their efforts to improve the status of black Americans in the profession. The committee began honoring political scientists five years ago under the leadership of committee chair E. Wally Miles, of San Diego State University. Miles wished to commend those who have advanced the interests



Charles Wesley Harris will be recognized for his achievements at APSA's Annual Meeting by the Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession.