Association News

ported and assisted in the early years of their professional development. This kind of relationship is particularly important in the area of research; senior faculty should lend guidance to the minority faculty members so that they will have acceptable records of scholarly publications when the tenure decisions are made.

It also is important that our political science curriculum reflect the reality of the minority experience.

If recruitment efforts at the undergraduate, graduate, and faculty levels meet with some success, then that allimportant "critical mass" of people with similar backgrounds and interests will be reached. Faculty and students will benefit from the interaction with each other, and the likelihood of their success will be greatly enhanced. Successful recruitment and retention of minorities will not only provide opportunities which have long been denied but will also enrich the total academic experience through a diversity of perspectives. The road to this goal is not an easy one, but if persons make good faith efforts, are willing to experiment, and apply innovative techniques and flexible criteria to this endeavor using some of the suggestions above, the chances of success will be greatly enhanced, and everyone will benefit from the experience.



Keith T. Poole (left) and Howard Rosenthal of Carnegie-Mellon University won the first annual CQ Press Award.

Legislative Studies Section Presents First Annual CQ Press Award

At the August annual business meeting of the Legislative Studies Section of the APSA in New Orleans, the winners of the first annual CQ Press Award for the outstanding Paper in Legislative Politics presented at the APSA annual meeting were announced. Sharing the 1985 prize are Keith T. Poole and Howard Rosenthal of Carnegie-Mellon University for their 1984 APSA paper, "On the Political Economy of Roll Call Voting."

The CQ Press Award is given each year by the Legislative Studies Section to honor outstanding scholarship as reflected in the papers presented at each September national meeting.

The 1986 CQ Press Award Committee is chaired by Allan Kornberg of Duke University. Other members are Malcolm Jewell, University of Kentucky, and Herbert F. Weisberg, Ohio State University. The 1986 prize will be announced and conferred at the 1986 Legislative Studies Section business meeting held during and in conjunction with the annual meeting of the American Political Science Association in Washington, D.C. It will honor the best paper in legislative politics delivered at the 1985 APSA Annual Meeting.

Richard F. Fenno, Jr., Prize Established

The Legislative Studies Section of the American Political Science Association has established a Richard F. Fenno, Jr., Prize to recognize the outstanding book published during the preceding year in legislative studies, including American. non-American, cross-national, and subnational works. The competition for 1985 includes books published at any point during the calendar year, and will be judged by a Fenno Prize Committee made up of L. Sandy Maisel, Colby College, Chair; and Charles S. Bullock III of the University of Georgia, and Charles O. Jones of the University of Virginia. Authors and others interested are urged