Association News

- (d) should conscientiously acknowledge any assistance received in conducting research, publication, or other scholarly activities; and
- (e) should adhere to the requirements, if any, of the funding agency, except in cases where they contradict any of the guidelines specified here.

APSA Selects Black American and Chicano/Latino Fellows

Eighteen students of political science have been named APSA Fellows for 1987-88. Fourteen Black American and four Chicano/Latino Fellows were selected by the Committee on the Status of Blacks and the Committee on the Status of Chicanos, respectively. Four Fellows will receive stipends while the others will receive an honorary fellowship in recognition of their past record and unusual promise for graduate study.

The 1987-88 black American Fellows are:

Fellows with Stipend

Jerrie W. Brown, St. Augustine College Ramona L. Burton, Hampton University Rickey Vallier, McNeese State University

Fellows without Stipend

Olivia Outlaw, Miami University

Antoine Wilson, Wilberforce University

Anthony Holm, University of Nevada

Thomas Stewart, University of District of Columbia

Marion Orr, Atlanta University

Terri Henderson, Southern University

Audra Jackson, Jackson State University

Venita Martin, Lake Forest College

Lisa Toland, Winthrop College

Karen Reed, Mississippi State University

David Washington, Jackson State University

The 1987-88 Chicano/Latino Fellows are:

Fellow with Stipend

Diana Saco, Florida Atlanta University

Fellows without Stipend

Olivia Olivares, Northern Arizona University

Jean Borkenhagen, University of District of Columbia

Ingrid Vargas-Sangurima, Queens College of CUNY

The committees encourage graduate departments to pay particular attention to these 18 outstanding students. Departments are requested to consider these Fellows for their own fellowships.

Members of the selection committee for the black American Fellows included: Irvin Brown, Indiana University of Pennsylvania; Linda Williams, Howard University; and Michael Preston, University of Southern California.

Members of the selection committee for the Chicano/Latino Fellows included: Harry Pachon, National Association of Latino Elected & Appointed Officials; John Garcia, University of Arizona; Benjamin Marquez, University of Utah; Angelo Falcon; Institute for Puerto Rican Policy; and Isidro Ortiz, San Diego State University.

Lucian W. Pye Nominated President-Elect

Lucian W. Pye, noted comparativist and Chinese specialist, has been nominated to be president of APSA for 1988-89. Pye is professor at Massachusetts Insti tute of Technology.

In addition to Pye, the 1987 Nominating Committee proposed the following slate for Association officers and Council members:

Vice-Presidents (1987-88): Arend Lijphart, University of California, San Diego; Walter Murphy, Princeton University; Barbara Sinclair, University of California, Riverside.

Treasurer (1987-89): Nancy H. Zingale, College of St. Thomas.

276 *PS* Spring 1987

Secretary (1987-88): James E. Anderson, Texas A&M University.

Council (1987-89): William I. Bacchus, Department of State; Donald Kinder, University of Michigan; Jane Mansbridge, Northwestern University; Dianne Pinderhughes, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Margaret E. Scranton, University of Arkansas, Little Rock; Mary Shanley, Vassar College; Richard A. Watson, University of Missouri-Columbia; Aristide Zolberg, New School for Social Research.

Under APSA's constitution the preceding nominations are subject to the vote of those members of the Association attending the Annual Business Meeting. If there is a contest for any elected office, an election will be conducted by mail ballot. Ballots will be distributed within 30 days of the Annual Business Meeting by the executive director. They must be returned within 30 days following distribution.

The 1987 Annual Business Meeting rules are printed in the Features section of this issue of PS. The rules require that any nominations in addition to those made by the Nominating Committee must be received in writing at the Association's Washington office prior to Friday, August 28, 1987, or thereafter at the Association's annual meeting office in the hotel headquarters. All such nominations and certifications must be received at least 24 hours before the session of the Annual Business Meeting in order to include those names on the original nominating document. Specific procedures for offering nominations are indicated in the Annual Business Meeting rules.

Members of the 1987 Nominating Committee are: Myron Weiner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, chair; Charles V. Hamilton, Columbia University; Kathleen McGinnis, Trinity College; Nelson W. Polsby, University of California, Berkeley; Samuel Popkin, University of California, San Diego; Arlene Saxonhouse, University of Michigan.

Continuing Council members from September 1987-September 1988 are: *President:* Kenneth Waltz, University of California, Berkeley. *Council* (1986-88): Robert H. Bates, Duke University; David W. Brady, Rice University; Demetrios Caraley, Columbia University; Francis M. Carney, University of California, Riverside; Margaret Karns, University of Dayton; David Morgan, University of Liverpool; Mitchell Rice, Louisiana State University; Robert M. Rosenzweig, Association of American Universities.

Catherine Rudder Named Executive Director

At its April 24th meeting, the Council appointed Catherine Rudder executive director of APSA.

She will fill the vacancy left by Thomas E. Mann, who is moving to the Brookings Institution where he will serve as senior fellow and director of the Governmental Studies Program. Rudder will assume the executive director's position following the 1987 annual meeting in September.

In announcing his choice to the Council, APSA President Samuel P. Huntington reported that members of the Search Committee "unanimously agreed" that their "clear first choice was Dr. Catherine Rudder." Huntington explained that after the Search Committee met, he "carried out an extensive range of consultations of people active in the profession, including a substantial number of former Presidents, and I have found virtually unanimous enthusiasm for Dr. Rudder's candidacy."

Currently associate director of APSA, Rudder directs the Congressional Fellowship Program and edits *PS*. As adjunct professor at Smith College, she teaches a seminar on public policy for Smith College interns in Washington, DC, and she serves on the Executive Committee of APSA's Legislative Studies Section. She has written several articles on tax policy making and is a frequent lecturer at Brookings, the Governmental Affairs Institute of the Office of Personnel Management, the Internal Revenue Service, and other institutions.

"Cathy has succeeded brilliantly with her two major responsibilities at the Associa-