# **Association News**

# Annual Meeting Visiting Foreign National Travel Grant Program

The Association has received grants from the Asia Foundation and the Institute of International Education to provide limited assistance to visiting foreign national political scientists and advanced graduate students wishing to attend the 1975 APSA Annual Meeting in San Francisco. For details on the two grant programs and application forms, write to the American Political Science Association, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036.

## Congressional Fellowship Program

The Association has announced 8 winners in the national competition for the 1975-76 Congressional Fellowship Program.

The winners—seven political scientists and one journalist—will come to the Nation's Capital for a year of full-time work in the offices of Senators and members of the House of Representatives.

Each winner will receive a minimum stipend of \$7,500 for the year. The program is financed by foundation grants to the Association and services of the Fellows are free of charge to the Congressional offices in which they work.

Sponsored by the Association since 1953, the purpose of the Congressional Fellowship Program is to give outstanding young academicians and political journalists an opportunity to further their knowledge of the national legislative process. Other participants in the 1975-76 Congressional Fellowship Program, Asian Fellows, Harkness Fellows, Johnson Health Policy Fellows, and Federal Service Fellows, will be named later in the year.

The Congressional Fellows are scheduled to arrive here in mid-November for a three-week orientation period. They will begin working in Congressional offices of their choice about December 1, 1975. The Program ends August 15, 1976.

The eight winners were selected on the basis of superior academic training and experience. Final selections were made by an Advisory Committee made up of top government officials, Washington newsmen, and political scientists.

## **POLITICAL SCIENTISTS**

Richard J. Born, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Kansas State University.

Margaret Thompson Echols, Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History, University of Wisconsin—Madison.

Henry C. Kenski, Jr., Assistant Professor of Political Science, University of Arizona.

**Burdett A. Loomis,** Visiting Assistant Professor of Political Science, Indiana University.

Corey Rosen, Assistant Professor of Government, Ripon College.

Peter D. Rosenberg, Visiting Instructor of Political Science, University of Kentucky.

**David J. Vogler,** Associate Professor of Government, Wheaton College.

#### JOURNALIST

Heath J. Meriwether, Palm Beach Editor, The Miami Herald.

## **Black Graduate Fellowships**

The Association has announced 25 winners in the competition for the 1975-76 Black Graduate Fellowships in Political Science.

The winners include six fellows to receive scholarships of \$3,600 for the academic year 1975-76 to attend the university of their choice and 19 non-funded fellows. The non-funded fellows have been recommended to graduate departments of political science as deserving of consideration for fellowships or other financial assistance.

The fellows were chosen by the Fellowship Selection Committee composed of Robert Martin, Howard University, Chairman; Marguerite Barnett, Princeton University; Hubert Sapp, Miles College; and Tyrone Baines, North Carolina Central.

#### **Funded Fellows**

Charles N. Atkins, Howard University Gilbert Baber, Jackson State University Willette C. Harrison, North Carolina State University

Stephen D. Jamison, Reed College Reggie L. Simmons, Ithaca College Patricia C. Williams, Spelman College

Non-Funded (Alternates) Fellows
Freida L. Wheaton, Tougaloo College
James N. Duncan, Federal City College
Marilyn R. Christopher, Wesleyan University
Aquilla O. McNeal, Beaver College
Bryan O. Jackson, East Texas State
Linda C. Evans, Smith College
Gloria D. Hall, Florida A & M University

### Non-Funded Fellows

Lynne I. Barney, Knox College
Philip C. Galanis, St. John's University
Mereida D. Goodman, Upsala College
John G. Irving, University of Massachusetts
Elizabeth A. King, University of Illinois
Alex Kinlaw, Jr., University of South Carolina
Alfred S. Lokuji, Berea College
Andre O. Martin, Humboldt State University
Gerald Maxwell, Tennessee State University
Josephine Rice, Texas Southern University
Thyra A. Riley, Stanford University
Byron M. Shaulton, Marymount Manhattan
College