Ecclesiastical Law Journal

Volume 4

CONTENTS

Editorial	444
The English Reformation Revisited Felicity Heal	446
Anglican Identity Geoffrey Rowell	454
The Fall and Rise of Doctors' Commons	462
Data Protection and the Church of England	470
Modern Sanctuary	487
Synodica) Government in the Scottish Episcopal Church	493
Book Reviews; Cleaning Historic Buildings by Nicola Ashurst	497
Uncertain Unions and Broken Lives by Lawrence Stone	498
Management of Old Cemetery Land by Julie Dunk and Julie Rugg	500
Hatred pursued beyond the Grave by Jane Cox	502
Working Party Reports:	
Cathedrals Commission Report	504
Clergy Discipline and Ecclesiastical Courts	510
Synod News	
Governing Body of the Church in Wales: Recent Legislation	521
General Synod of the Church of England	524
Recent Ecclesiastical Cases	525
Dissertations by participants in Cardiff LLM Course 1994–1995	530
Letters to the Editor	532

The Journal of the Ecclesiastical Law Society

The Ecclesiastical Law Journal is published by the Ecclesiastical Law Society. Decisions on the publication of individual articles are at the discretion of the Editor but are normally made on the advice of referees, chosen by the Editor as expert in the relevant area. General policies of the Journal are developed in consultation with the Editorial Committee and the Editorial Advisory Board. General enquiries and articles submitted for publication should be addressed to: The Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, Parkside, Dulwich Common, London SE21 7EU; (Tel. 0181 693 3564).

Books for review may be sent to: J. D. C. Harte Esq, Book Review Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, Newcastle Law School, Newcastle University, 21–24 Windsor Terrace, Newcastle upon Tyne NEI 7RU; (Tel. 0191 222 7614; Fax 0191 212 0064).

Matters relating to cases should be addressed to: T. J. Briden Esq. Case Notes Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, 1 Temple Gardens, Temple, London EC4Y 9BB.

ISSN 0956-618X

Items in this issue should be cited 4 Ecc. LJ 18

Inquiries with regard to membership of the Ecclesiastical Law Society or subscriptions to the Journal, including back issues, should be addressed to: Ecclesiastical Law Society, c/o 1 The Sanctuary, Westminster, London SW1P 3JT (Tel. 0171 222 5381). Inquiries from North America with regard to subscriptions to the Journal or back issues should be addressed to Messrs Wm W Gaunt and Sons Inc, Gaunt Building, 3011 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Florida 34127-2199, USA, who are sole distribution agents for the Journal to non-members in North America.

The current price for individual copies of the Journal (other than those which are supplied free of charge to members) is £11.50 per copy in the United Kingdom, inclusive of postage. Details of overseas rates may be obtained from the Ecclesiastical Law Society or from Wm W Gaunt and Sons Inc.

The views expressed in any article, review or other publication in this Journal do not necessarily accord with those of the Editorial Committee or the Society as a whole. Editor

Typeset in Times Roman on Apple Mackintosh and printed by Oxuniprint, Oxford University Press, Walton Street, Oxford.

All rights in this publication are reserved. It may not be reproduced or transmitted in whole or in part, for sale or otherwise, in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording or storage in any retrieval system, without written permission from the Ecclesiastical Law Society.

© The Ecclesiastical Law Society 1993-1995

ECCLESIASTICAL LAW SOCIETY

Patrons

The Most Revd. and Rt. Hon. the Lord Archbishop of Canterbury The Most Revd. and Rt. Hon. the Lord Archbishop of York

Vice Patrons

The Most Revd. the Lord Archbishop of Wales The Most Revd. the Lord Archbishop of Armagh The Most Revd. the Primus of Scotland

President

The Rt. Revd. the Lord Bishop of Chichester (to 1997)

Elective Officers (to 1996)

CHAIRMAN: The Worshipful Chancellor Quentin Edwards, Q.C.[†] VICE-CHAIRMAN: The Revd. Canon Christopher Hill† SECRETARY: Peter Beesley, Esq.† DEPUTY SECRETARY: Nicholas J. Richens, Esq.† TREASURER: The Revd. John Reest

Executive Officer

The Ven. T. Hughie Jones†

General Committee

The Officers together with:

ELECTED: Raymond Hemingray, Esq. (to 1996)

John Holden, Esq. (to 1996) The Revd. John Masding (to 1996)

Charles Mynors, Esq. (to 1996)

The Revd. Canon Peter Boulton (to 1997)

Brian Hanson, Esq. (to 1997)

David Harte, Esq. (to 1997)

The Revd. and Worshipful

Chancellor Rupert Bursell, Q.C.† (to 1998)

David Cheetham, Esq. (to 1998)

The Worshipful Chancellor Michael Goodman*† (to 1998)

Jonathan Cryer, Esq. (to 1998)

Mark Hill, Esq. (to 1998)

CO-OPTED: Dr Norman Doe (to 1998)