# From the Editor



# Recognition of Society Award Winners

Each year, the Microscopy Society of America (MSA) and the Microanalysis Society (MAS) offer several awards for outstanding sustained contributions to our imaging and analysis community. In this issue of *Microscopy Today*, we recognize the 2020 MSA Awardees including Distinguished Scientists David Seidman and Xiaowei Zhuang, Burton awardees James Lebeau and Brent Nannenga, Albert Crewe awardee Andrew Yankovich, Hildegard H. Crowley awardee Joseph Mowery, Chuck Fiori awardee Lijun Wu, Mort Maser Distinguished Service awardee John Shields, and Fellows Elizabeth Dickey, Ian Anderson, J. Bernard Heymann, and Masashi Watanabe. In the July issue we will provide recognition of the 2020 MAS awardees, including Peter Duncumb awardee Nestor Zaluzec, Presidential Science awardee Gianluigi Botton, Presidential Service awardee Edward Vicenzi, KFJ Heinrich awardee Lena Kourkoutis, and Fellows Christopher Kiely, Lothar Strüder, and Yimei Zhu. The *Microscopy Today* staff congratulates all for their exceptional contributions to science and service to their Society.

Guidelines for the MSA awards can be found at Awards & Scholarships – Society Awards | Microscopy Society of America and MAS awards at Awards – Microanalysis Society (the-mas.org). As deadlines for the awards vary, please check the websites closely, and please consider nominating a worthy colleague so that they can receive recognition from their peers and the imaging and analysis community.

MSA and MAS also provide several Student and Postdoctoral Scholar Awards and Professional Technical Staff Awards (PTSA) that cover meeting registration and \$1000 toward travel, lodging, and other M&M meeting costs. In addition to meeting support, these awards include recognition at the Plenary Session on the first day of the meeting. Scholar and PTSA awards require submission of an outstanding two-page paper for the meeting proceedings and a platform or poster presentation of the work at the meeting. Several "In-meeting" awards are also given each year. These include Student Poster Awards that provide cash prizes, and the prestigious Ultramicrotomy Award for use of diamond-knife ultramicrotomy, which includes prizes of cash and Swiss watches.

Robert L. Price Editor-in-Chief

Publication Objective: to provide information of interest to microscopists.

*Microscopy Today* is a controlled-circulation trade magazine owned by the Microscopy Society of America that is published six times a year in the odd months. Editorial coverage spans all microscopy techniques including light microscopy, scanning probe microscopy, electron microscopy, ion-beam techniques, and the wide range of microanalytical methods. Readers and authors come from both the life sciences and the physical sciences. The typical length of an article is about 2,000 words plus figures and tables; feature articles are longer. Interested authors should consult "Instructions for Contributors" on the Microscopy Today website: www.microscopy-today.com.

#### ISSN 1551-9295

## Disclaimer

The Microscopy Society of America and the editors cannot be held responsible for opinions, errors, or for any consequences arising from the use of information contained in *Microscopy Today*. The appearance of advertising in *Microscopy Today* does not constitute an endorsement or approval by the Microscopy Society of America of any claims or information found in the advertisements. By submitting a manuscript to *Microscopy Today*, the author warrants that the article is original or that the author has written permission to use copyrighted material published elsewhere. While the contents of this magazine are believed to be accurate at press time, neither the Microscopy Society of America, the editors, nor the authors can accept legal responsibility for errors or omissions.

© Copyright 2021 by the Microscopy Society of America. All rights reserved.

# Microscopy

# Editorial Staff

Robert L. Price, *Editor-in-Chief* bob.price@uscmed.sc.edu (803) 216-3824 Gennifer Levey, *Production Manager* glevey@meridianartpro.com (212) 780-0315 Beverly Maleeff, *Administrative Editor* 

bev@alumni.psu.edu Charles E. Lyman, Senior Editor charles.lyman@lehigh.edu Phil Oshel, Senior Editor

oshellpe@cmich.edu Stephen Carmichael, Columnist

carmichael.stephen@mayo.edu

John Shields, Columnist johnshields59@gmail.com

**Cameron Varano**, *Pioneers Editor* cvarano@psu.edu

Richard Edelmann, Education Editor edelmare@miamioh.edu

Deb Kelly, Microscopy 101 Editor debkelly@psu.edu

Rich Fiore, Product and Industry News Editor rich@scifisalesinc.com

Rich Martens, Calendar Editor atomman22@gmail.com

Nikolaus Cordes, Digital Content Editor nikolaus.cordes@inl.gov

Thomas Kelly, Chief Innovation Judge thomas.kelly@ametek.com

Robert Simmons, Chief Micrograph Judge robert.simmons@briarwillow.com

## Advertising Sales

M.J. Mrvica Associates, Inc. 2 West Taunton Avenue, Berlin, NJ 08009 mjmrvica@mrvica.com (856) 768-9360 **Kelly Miller,** *Account Manager* kmiller@mrvica.com

#### Magazine website:

http://www.microscopy-today.com Free subscriptions are available.

#### Publisher

Cambridge University Press One Liberty Plaza, 20th Floor New York, New York 10006 (212) 337-5000

### Circulation: 18,000

# **Editorial Board**

Nasim Alem, Penn State University Arlan Benscoter, Lehigh University John Bozzola, Southern Illinois University Peter Crozier, Arizona State University Vinayak Dravid, Northwestern University David Grubb, Cornell University Bryan Huey, University of Connecticut Heather Lowers, U.S. Geological Survey John Mackenzie, North Carolina State Univ. Paul Maddox, U. of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Ania Majewska, U. Rochester Med School Joseph Michael, Sandia National Labs Caroline Miller, Indiana University Brian M. Patterson, Los Alamos National Lab John Reffner, John Jay College, SUNY Ian Robertson, University of Wisconsin Phillip Russell, Appalachian State University Bradley Thiel, SUNY Polytechnic Institute Simon Watkins, University of Pittsburgh Cynthia Zeissler, Nat. Inst. of Stds. and Tech. (NIST)