Association News

Proposed Amendments to Committee Draft Constitution

Submitted by The APSA Council

Article II

In Section 1, add the word "professional" before the words "study of politics."

Article III

Insert a new Article III, entitled "Membership," as follows:

A. Members

1. Any person sharing the purpose of the Association who meets one or more of the following criteria may become a member upon payment of annual dues:

- a. Possession of a Ph.D. or equivalent training in political science or a closely related field;
- b. Teaching or research in political science;
- c. Graduate study in political science;
- Substantial contribution to or achievement in the advancement of the professional study of politics.
- 2. Members shall be entitled to:
 - Receive a copy of each number of such official journals of the Association issued during his membership as determined by the Assembly;
 - b. Attend, participate in and vote at the Annual Meeting of members;
 - c. Receive and return all ballots submitted to the membership by the Association;
 - d. Sponsor nominations for elective offices;
 - e. Be eligible for nomination to elective office; and
 - f. Sponsor amendments to the constitution.

3. All classes of dues for members, including life memberships and reduced annual dues for retired members and graduate students, shall be set by the Assembly.

B. Associates

1. Any person sharing the purpose of the Association and not eligible for membership may become an associate upon payment of annual dues. Institutions and libraries may become associates.

2. Associates shall be entitled to receive a copy of each number of such official journals of the Association issued during his associateship as determined by the Assembly.

3. All classes of dues for associates, including life associates and reduced annual dues for retired associates and student associates, shall be set by the Assembly.

Article V

Last Sentence of Section 1 should be amended to

read: "No member shall serve for two consecutive terms.

Articles IV, V, VIII

Add the following words to these Sections to provide for retention of Vice-Presidents:

IV, 1. Add "three vice presidents" to composition of Association government.

IV, 2. Add "three vice presidents" to list of Association officers.

V, 1. Add at close, "The three vice presidents shall be members of the Assembly."

V, 5, i. Add as italicized, "appoint an acting President from among the three Vice Presidents if the President should die, resign, or be unable to perform his duties and the President-Elect is not available to succeed him."

VIII, 3, last sentence. Add as italicized, "If the President-Elect is unavailable, the Assembly shall appoint an Acting President *Irom among the three Vice Presidents.*"

Article IX

Insert the following new Article IX, and renumber subsequent Articles:

1. The three Vice Presidents shall be chosen by mail ballot of the members of the Association.

2. Each Vice President shall serve for a term of one year, and not be eligible for re-election to that post.

3. Each Vice President shall be a voting member of the Assembly.

4. If a Vice President should die, resign or be unable to perform his duties, the position shall be declared vacant and remain unfilled for the remainder of the annual term.

Articles X, XI, XIII

Add the following words to indicated Sections. X, 1, line 3. Add after "the President-Elect, *the three Vice Presidents*, ..." shall attend the Annual Meeting of Members

XI, 1, line 5. Add after "for the office of President-Elect, for the offices of three vice presidents, ..." in re. Nominating Committee functions

XIII, 2. Change transition arrangements to read:

"The President, President-Elect, Vice Presidents, and Council at the time of ratification shall serve as interim President, President-Elect, Vice Presidents and Assembly under this constitution. The Secretary and Treasurer shall serve out their terms as members of the Assembly."

Submitted by Steven Brams, et al.

Article V, Section 1

Change to read as follows:

... members shall be entitled to cast a total number of votes equal to the number of offices in the set, with this total number either to be divided equally among a number of nominees less than or equal to the number of offices, or to be divided in unequal whole numbers among a number of nominees less than the number of offices, and the nominees ranking highest...

Steven J. Brams G. W. Sensiba Jeffrey A. Lamia K. W. Kim Yong T. Choi Peter A. Corning Ann Tonjes Philip Green Robert Burrowes James A. Dyer Paul Lermack Ronald W. Duty Elaine M. Wolfson Barton K. Stevens Kenneth E. Sharpe Paul Minkoff John E. Stuckey John S. Marks Albert H. Teich James R. McCoy Arthur M. Hanardt, Jr. Daniel Goldrich Joyce Mitchell Rachel Starr Patrick J. McGowan James J. Fishman

Alan Wolfe John G. Heilman William G. Fleming Morris J. Blachman Ronald G. Heilman Lewis Lipsitz F. J. Moreno David Dent Frank Forbes Anne Permaloff Larry Dodd Martin Weinstein Robert A. Isaak Michael J. Scarcella Terry Nardin Alan Gitelson Robert M. Rood Jerry F. Medler Judson Jones Carol S. Gabiou James P. Levine William C. Mitchell Michael O'Learv Charles P. Schleicher and others

Submitted by Paul Puryear, et al.

Article II, Section 4

The Association further recognizes that the protection of the basic human rights of all citizens is essential if the rights of its own members to engage freely in teaching and research are to be safeguarded. Consequently, nothing in this Constitution shall preclude the Association from adopting positions on issues affecting the status and rights of blacks and other oppressed peoples.

Paul L. Puryear Mack H. Jones Lois Moreland Hanes Walton, Jr. Robert Shanley C. Vernon Gray Frank S. Ransburg Robert A. Holmes Lenneal J. Henderson Dante L. Germino Peggy S. Griffiths John N. Plank Maurice C. Woodward N. P. Tillman, Jr. Robert E. Martin Moses Akpan Morris Levitt Harris S. Cohen John Ramsey Robert L. Stern Calvin M. Miller Leslie B. McLemore Kenneth L. Deutsch Francine F. Rabinovitz Princeton Lyman Alex Willingham

Tobe Johnson Larry Moss Lawrence Noble Paul L. Savage Whitmore B. Garland Jewel L. Prestage Yousef Danesh David G. Temple Thomas V. Garcia Michael B. Grossman Elsie L. Scott Harry M. Scoble Michael Parenti Samuel DuBois Cook Festus Ohaegbulam D. G. Kousoulas William P. Robinson M. S. Sheffer Thomas Wells Henry S. Wulf Irving Howards John C. Ries Russel L. Adams S. J. Makielski, Jr. and others

Submitted by William Connolly, et al.

The proposed amendments to the current constitution requiring plural voting for the Editorial Board of the *American Political Science Review*, and which makes the office of Managing Editor elective (see previous section, Proposed Amendments to Current Constitution) is also submitted for the Draft Constitution, with appropriate numbering.