THE REVIEW OF POLITICS

University of Notre Dame Winter 1990

THE REVIEW OF POLITICS

Editor DONALD P. KOMMERS

Managing Editor DENNIS WM MORAN

Book Review Editor WALTER NICGORSKI

Associate Editors Philip Gleason T E. A. Goerner 7

Thomas Stritch Thomas Werge

Former Editors

Waldemar Gurian M. A. Fitzsimons Thomas Stritch Frederick J. Crosson

Editorial Advisory Board

Henry J. Abraham University of Virginia **Charles W. Anderson** University of Wisconsin-Madison **Shlomo** Avineri **Hebrew University** of Jerusalem **Robert F. Byrnes** Indiana University **Ernest L. Fortin Boston College Gerald Garvey Princeton University** Penny T. Gill Mount Holyoke College

J. David Greenstone University of Chicago Arend Lijphart University of California-San Diego **Alasdair MacIntyre** University of Notre Dame Harvey C. Mansfield. Jr. Harvard University John R. Schmidhauser University of Southern California Kenneth W. Thompson University of Virginia **Glenn Tinder** University of Massachusetts-Boston

Editorial Intern Alan Gibson

The REVIEW OF POLITICS, without neglecting the analysis of institutions and techniques, is primarily interested in the philosophical and historical approach to political realities.

The articles in THE REVIEW OF POLITICS are indexed in the International Index to Periodicals and the Index of Catholic Periodicals and abstracted in the International Political Science Abstracts. They are abstracted and indexed in ABC POL. SCI. and HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS and SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX.

THE REVIEW OF POLITICS (ISSN 0034-6705) is published quarterly for \$25.00 per year in the United States (Individual, \$20.00); foreign \$28.00 (Individual \$23.00); single copies, \$6.25 (domestic) and \$7.00 (foreign) by The University of Notre Dame, PO. Box B, Notre Dame, IN 46556. Second-class postage paid at Notre Dame, IN. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to THE REVIEW OF POLITICS, P.O. Box B, Notre Dame, IN 46556.

THE REVIEW OF POLITICS

Published Quarterly by the University of Notre Dame, Indiana

Vol. 5	2 Spring 1990	No. 2
Јони л	A. Armstrong	
-	Contemporary Ethnicity: The Moral Dimension in	
	Comparative Perspective	. 163
Larry	Peterman	
	Gravity and Piety: Machiavelli's Modern Turn	. 189
Asher	Horowitz	
	"Laws and Customs Thrust Us Back into Infancy":	
	Rousseau's Historical Anthropology	. 215
Steph	en Eric Bronner	
	Politics and Judgment: A Critique of Rational	
	Choice Marxism	. 242
VUKAN	N KUIC	
	Law, Politics, and Judicial Review	. 265
Comme	•	
	John H. Yoder: The Wider Setting of "Liberation	
	Theology"	. 285
Reviews	÷	
	John C. Chalberg: Revealing Kennan: His Words and His Silences	
	Wilson D. Miscamble, C.S.C.: Kennan Through His Texts	
	William D. Jackson: The Triumph of Containment	
	Leon D. Epstein: Macmillan's Authorized Biography	
	Patrick McCarthy: Americans and Catholics in Postwar Italy	
	Susan Behuniak-Long: The Elusive Machiavelli	
	Kenneth B. Peter: Montesquieu, America and Tocqueville Delba Winthrop: Tocqueville, Revolution and Liberal Democracy	
	Nicholas Ayo, C.S.C.: Has Modernity Lost the Transcendent?	
	James M. Rhodes: Recovery of Order: Scheler to Voegelin	
	Alven M. Neiman: Education and the Crisis of Liberalism	. 333

Contributors to This Issue

JOHN A. ARMSTRONG, Professor Emeritus of Political Science in the University of Wisconsin-Madison, is former President of the American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies. LARRY PETERMAN is Professor of Political Science in the University of California, Davis. Asher HOROWITZ is a member of the Faculty of Arts, Department of Political Science, in York University, Ontario. STEPHEN ERIC BRONNER is Professor of Political Science in Rutgers University, New Brunswick. VUKAN KUIC is Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Government and International Studies in the University of South Carolina. JOHN H. YODER, Professor of Theology in the University of Notre Dame, is the author of *The Politics of Jesus*.

JOHN C. CHALBERG teaches American history in Normandale Community College, Bloomington, Minnesota. WILSON D. MISCAMBLE is Assistant Professor of History in the University of Notre Dame. Rus-SELL A. HAMILTON is Assistant Professor of Political Science in Radford University. WILLIAM D. JACKSON is Professor of Political Science in Miami University. LEON D. EPSTEIN, past President of the American Political Science Association, is Hilldale Professor Emeritus in the University of Wisconsin-Madison. PATRICK MCCARTHY is Professor of European Studies in the Johns Hopkins University Bologna Center. SUSAN BEHUNIAK-LONG is Assistant Professor of Political Science in Le Moyne College. KENNETH B. PETER is a member of the Government Department in Stanford University. DELBA WINTHROP is Lecturer in Extension in Harvard University. NICHOLAS AVO, C.S.C., is a member of Notre Dame's Program of Liberal Studies. JAMES M. RHODES is Associate Professor of Political Science in Marguette University. ALVEN M. NEIMAN is Director of Core Course in Notre Dame's College of Arts and Letters.

INSTRUCTIONS TO CONTRIBUTORS

All manuscripts should be submitted in QUADRUPLICATE to *The Review of Politics*, Box B, Notre Dame, IN 46556. If the return of the manuscript is desired, a stamped, self-addressed envelope should be enclosed. All typewritten material should be double-spaced, including notes and quotations; photocopies of a good quality are acceptable. *The Review* follows the *Chicago Manual of Style* for standards of citation, punctuation and other editorial considerations. The normal length of manuscripts published is 25-30 pages. Longer manuscripts will be evaluated in light of the limited printing space available. Since manuscripts are evaluated anonymously they should not bear the author's name or institutional affiliation. Submissions should be sent with an ABSTRACT of 100-150 words. All correspondence regarding book reviews should be sent to Mr. Walter Nicgorski at the above address.