retiring LSS Chair, as Series Editor of the book project.

## No Richard F. Fenno Jr. Prize Given for 1987

The Legislative Studies Section of the American Political Science Association announced in Chicago at the APSA Annual Meeting that the Richard F. Fenno, Jr. Prize for 1987 would not be awarded this year.

The Fenno Prize honors the outstanding book published during the preceding year in legislative studies, including American, non-American, cross-national, and subnational works.

The 1986 Fenno Prize was conferred jointly upon Gerhard Loewenberg, Samuel C. Patterson, and Malcolm E. Jewell for their work in editing *The Handbook of Legislative Research*, published by Harvard University Press.

Speaking on behalf of the 1987 Richard F. Fenno, Jr. Prize Committee, Chairman Randall B. Ripley, of Ohio State University, reported:

The committee to select the best book published on legislative politics during 1986 considered the nominations it received carefully. Many of these entries presented interesting work, both conceptual and empirical. Unfortunately, a number of the entries really were not about legislative politics. In fact, we observed with some dismay the small number of books appearing in this area once noted for its industry and productivity.

We concluded that, despite the strengths of some of the small number of books that were about legislative politics, none of them warranted the Fenno Award using stringent criteria. The committee members agreed that the winner should be a volume that was truly distinguished and made major advances in our substantive knowledge of legislative behavior, theories of legislative behavior, or appropriate methodology for furthering the understanding of legislative behavior. We think such high standards are the appropriate ones to use in honoring the work of Dick Fenno.

Other members of the 1987 Fenno Committee were Barbara Hinckley, University

of Wisconsin-Madison, and Leroy N. Rieselbach, Indiana University.

The Fenno competition for 1988 will include books published at any point during the 1987 calendar year, and will be judged by a Fenno Prize Committee made up of Allan Kornberg of Duke University, Chairman, and Diana Evans of Trinity College and Stephen Frantzich of the U.S. Naval Academy, Authors and others interested are invited to nominate outstanding 1987 books in legislative studies for the Fenno Prize by arranging for publishers to submit three copies of such works to the Fenno Prize Committee. One copy is to be sent to each member of the Committee listed above by March 1, 1988. Authors of prospective nominated books should consult with their publishers to ensure that copies are so sent. The 1988 Richard F. Fenno, Jr. Prize will be announced and conferred at the 1988 Awards Ceremony of the Legislative Studies Section held during and in conjunction with the annual meeting of the American Political Science Association in Washington.

The Fenno prize honors the outstanding scholarship of Richard F. Fenno, Jr. of the University of Rochester, the leading contemporary analyst of legislative studies and the 1984-85 President of the American Political Science Association.

## Parties Section Recognizes Contributions to the Field

The APSA Organized Section on Political Organizations and Parties presented several awards at the annual meeting for outstanding contributions to the field.

The Leon Epstein Award for best book was shared by Philip E. Converse (University of Michigan), Warren E. Miller (Arizona State University), Donald E. Stokes (Princeton University) and the late Angus Campbell, for their work, *The American Voter*. The award was presented by L. Sandy Maisel of Harvard University and Colby College.

The Garland Press Award for the best published article was shared by Robert J.

Huckshorn (Florida Atlantic University), James L. Gibson (University of Houston), Cornelius P. Cotter (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee), and John F. Bibby (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee) for their November 1986 Journal of Politics article, "Party Integration and Party Organizational Strength." Robert Harmel of Texas A&M University presented the award.

The Samuel Eldersveld Award for career achievement was presented to Austin Ranney of the University of California, Berkeley. The award was presented by Leon Epstein of the University of Wisconsin-Madison.



Colin Campbell of Georgetown University is awarded the Richard E. Neustadt Award by the Presidency Research Section for *Managing the Presidency*. Campbell receives the award from (left to right) Lyn Ragsdale, Steven Shull, and Joseph A. Pika.

## Lucian W. Pye Elected President-Elect

Lucian W. Pye has been elected to serve as president-elect of APSA for 1987-88 and will assume the office of president in 1988-89.

Pye was elected by acclamation at the Annual Business Meeting on September 5 in Chicago, Illinois, along with the other nominees selected by the Nominating Committee for APSA offices and Council positions.

Arend Lijphart, University of California-San Diego, Walter Murphy, Princeton University, and Barbara Sinclair, University of California-Riverside were elected vice-presidents of APSA for 1987-88. James E. Anderson, Texas A&M, was elected secretary for 1987-88. Nancy H. Zingale, College of St. Thomas, was elected treasurer for 1987-89.

The eight new members of the 16-member Council elected to serve a two-year term (1987-89) are: William Bacchus, U.S. Department of State; Donald Kinder, University of Michigan; Jane Mansbridge, Northwestern University; Dianne Pinderhughes, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Margaret E. Scranton, University of Arkansas-Little Rock; Mary L. Shanley, Vassar College;

Richard A. Watson, University of Missouri; and Aristide Zolberg, The New School for Social Research.

Continuing their 1986-88 terms are: Robert H. Bates, Duke University; David W. Brady, Stanford University; Demetrious Caraley, Barnard College, Columbia University; Francis W. Carney, University of California-Riverside; Margaret Karns, University of Dayton; David Morgan, University of Liverpool; Mitchell Rice, Louisiana State University; and Robert M. Rosenzweig, Association of American Universities.



Leon D. Epstein of the University of Wisconsin-Madison awards the Career Achievement Award to Austin Ranney of the University of California-Berkeley on behalf of the Section on Political Organizations and Parties.