

## EDITOR'S CORNER

The Society for Historians of the Early American Republic (SHEAR) solicits proposals for panels or individual papers to be presented at its 1994 meeting, to be held 14–17 July at Boston College in Boston, Massachusetts. Session proposals are especially encouraged; they should include two or three papers tied to a common theme and ideally would provide suggestions for commentators and chairpersons. Individual paper proposals, particularly on topics of broad interest, will also be considered. For each paper proposed, please submit a brief abstract and a short c.v. for the author to David Moltke-Hansen, director, Southern Historical Collection, CB #3926, Wilson Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC 27514–8890, marking the communication SHEAR. (The fax number is 919–962–0484.)

The Economic and Business Historical Society's next annual meeting will be held in Santa Fe, New Mexico, on 28–30 April 1994. The deadline for paper proposals is 15 January 1994, and completed papers will be due on 1 March 1994. For additional information, please contact the president and program chair, Kenneth Lipartito, EBHS/Department of History, University of Houston, Houston, TX 77201; telephone 713–743–3106.

The Forest History Society has announced that William J. Cronon and Donald J. Pisani will share the 1993 Charles A. Weyerhaeuser Award for the best book on forest and conservation history published in 1991 or 1992. Cronon, Frederick Jackson Turner Professor of History, Geography, and Environmental Studies at the University of Wisconsin, was awarded the prize for his book, *Nature's Metropolis: Chicago and the Great West* (W. W. Norton, 1991). Pisani, who is professor of history at Texas A & M University, won for *To Reclaim a Divided West: Water, Law, and Public Policy*, 1848–1902 (University of New Mexico Press, 1992).

The Society also announces the availability of Alfred D. Bell, Jr., Travel Grants for 1994. Scholars wishing to study at the Society's archives and library may receive up to \$750 in support of travel and lodging expenses. For information on the Society's holdings and application procedures, please write Bell Travel Grants, Forest History Society, 701 Vickers Avenue, Durham, NC 27701, or call 919–682–9319.

## Editor's Corner / 772

The Society for Industrial Archaeology (SIA) announces its twenty-third annual meeting, to be held 2–5 June 1994 in Toronto, Canada. The conference will be organized around the title "From Fur Trade to Free Trade," focusing on the rapid pace of change in North America's industrial landscape. Proposals, which are due by 15 January 1994, are welcomed for presenting a paper, organizing a panel discussion, reporting on work in progress, or coordinating a session. An abstract of not more than 250 words is required for all formats; it should include the title of the presentation, names of participants, a brief c.v. for each, addresses, telephone (and fax) numbers, and audio-visual requirements. Proposals should be sent to Julie Harris, Program Chair, 1994 SIA Conference, 120 Sunnyside Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario, K1S 0R1, CANADA. Her telephone number is 613–730–0932, and her Internet address is ad895@freenet.carleton. ca.

Readers of the Summer 1992 issue of the journal may have noticed that computer gremlins, by whom we have been relatively unbothered in the past, emerged to make mincemeat of a paragraph in Steve Usselman's article on George Westinghouse. A short segment of note 20 from Stephen Haber's article was duplicated in the end of a paragraph on p. 291 after the proofing stage. We apologize to the author and herewith reprint the lines as they were supposed to read:

... In supplying an enthusiastic telegraph industry with the multiplex device, Edison had encountered little of the resistance Westinghouse had met from the railroads. The strategies that Westinghouse had employed in response—the use of public trials to gain leverage, the appeals to uniformity, the rigorous attention to patents and relentless defense of his rights—were still largely foreign to Edison. In addition to a rich education, the experience had left him with a valuable collection of patents and a fully integrated enterprise for manufacturing and marketing railroad brakes. This enterprise provided Westinghouse with the same sense of liberation from financial constraint that inspired Edison to launch an invention factory, but it also brought certain obligations and commitments.

The editors once again wish to thank those scholars who assisted the journal by serving as manuscript readers. The people listed are those, in addition to members of the journal's Editorial Advisory Board, who performed this task during 1992:

Jeremy, Atack, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign George Baker, Harvard University William Becker, George Washington University V. R. Berghahn, Brown University Allan Bogue, University of Wisconsin, Madison Gordon Boyce, Victoria University of Wellington Charles Calomiris, Northwestern University S. D. Chapman, University of Nottingham Michael Collins, University of Leeds Robert Cuff, York University Louis Ferleger, University of Massachusetts, Boston

## Editor's Corner / 773

Gus Giebelhaus, Georgia Institute of Technology Douglas Gomery, University of Maryland Brian Gratton, Arizona State University Iulie Greene, University of Missouri, Kansas City Laurence Gross, University of Massachusetts, Lowell Carol Heim, University of Massachusetts, Amherst Peter Hertner, European University Institute Michael Hughes, Wake Forest University Naomi Lamoreaux. Brown University Wayne Lewchuk, McMaster University Harold Livesay, Texas A & M University Helen Milner, Columbia University Kenneth Ng, California State University, Northridge Anthony P. O'Brien, Lehigh University Patricia O'Brien. Harvard University Toni Pierenkemper, Universität des Saarlandes Daniel Pope, University of Oregon Leonard Reich, Colby College Duncan Ross, Victoria University of Wellington Carl Ryant, University of Louisville Larry Schweikart, University of Dayton Raymond Stokes, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute William Sundstrom, Santa Clara University Graham Taylor, Dalhousie University Geoffrey Tweedale, University of Sheffield Simon Ville, University of Auckland David Vrooman, Wittenberg University Imanuel Wexler, University of Connecticut Robert Wiebe, Northwestern University