## No. 21

# Ecclesiastical Law Journal

# Volume 4

## CONTENTS

Editorial	693
'The Letter Killeth but the Spirit Giveth Life'	694
Whose Supremacy? King, Parliament and the Church	700
Famous English Canon Lawyers: X. Sir Robert Phillimore	709
Laissez-Faire Liturgy? Trevor Lloyd	720
Non Lex Sed Corruptio Legis	728
The Training of Archdeacons Hugh Buckingham	7.38
The Manchester Residential Conference 1997 Norman Doc	7-14
Response to 'Under Authority' Working Party Report	746
Book Reviews: Marriage, Family and Law in Medieval Europe by Michael Shechan	752
Dibdin and the English Establishment by E. E. S. Sunderland 1 review by John Colver	753
The Legal Framework of the Church of England by Norman Doc	755
The English Church and its Laws by C. R. Chency	756
Liturgy, Order and the Law by Rupert Bursell Reviews by Eric Kemp	756
Kent Heresy Proceedings 1511–12 by Norman Tanner.	757
Surveying Historic Buildings by David Watt and Peter Swallow	758
Oculus Episcopi by Hugh Buckingham 1 review by Poter Elliott	759
Synod News-Recent Legislation:	
The Governing Body of the Church in Wales. Thomas Glyn Watkin	761
The General Synod of the Church of Ireland	762
Recent Ecclesiastical Cases.	763

# The Journal of the Ecclesiastical Law Society

The Ecclesiastical Law Journal is published by the Feelesiastical Law Society Decisions on the publication of individual articles are at the discretion of the Editor but are normally made on the advice of referees, chosen by the Editor as expert in the relevant area. General policies of the Journal are developed in consultation with the Editorial Committee and the Editorial Advisory Board General enquiries and articles submitted for publication should be addressed to The Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, Parkside, Dulwich Common, London SE21 7EU (Tel. 0181 693 3564).

Books for review may be sent to: J. D. C. Harte Esq. Book Review Editor. Ecclesiastical Law Journal, Newcastle Law School, Newcastle University, 21–24 Windsor Terrace, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 7RU (Tel. 0191/222/7614; Fax 0191/ 212/0064)

Matters relating to cases should be addressed to: Mark Hill Esq. Case Notes Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, 3 Pump Court, Temple, London EC4Y "AJ (Tel. 0171 353 0711).

### ISSN 0956-618X

#### Items in this issue should be cited 4 Ecc LJ

Inquiries with regard to membership of the Ecclesiastical Law Society or subscriptions to the Journal, including back issues, should be addressed to Ecclesiastical Law Society, c o 1 The Sanctuary, Westminster, London SW1P 3JT (Tel, 0171 222 5381). Inquiries from North America with regard to subscriptions to the Journal or back issues should be addressed to Gaunt Inc., Gaunt Building, 3011 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Florida 34127-2199, USA, who are sole distribution agents for the Journal to non-members in North America.

The views expressed in any article, review or other publication in this Journal do not necessarily accord with those of the Editorial Committee or the Society as a whole.

Typeset in Times Roman on Apple Mackintosh and printed by Oxuniprint, Oxford University Press, Great Clarendon Street, Oxford.

All rights in this publication are reserved. It may not be reproduced or transmitted in whole or in part, for sale or otherwise, in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording or storage in any retrieval system, without written permission from the Ecclesiastical Law Society

The Ecclesiastical Law Society 1993 (1997)

# ECCLESIASTICAL LAW SOCIETY

g need block	Patrons	1997 (M	

The Most Revd and Rt Hon the Lord Archbishop of Canterbury The Most Revd and Rt Hon the Lord Archbishop of York

is the Albert of the land through the best of the

Vice-Patrons The Most Revd the Lord Archbishop of Wales The Most Revd the Lord Archbishop of Armagh The Most Revd the Primus of Scotland

President

The Rt Revd the Lord Bishop of Chichester (to 1997)

Elective Officers (to 1997) CHAIRMAN: Dr Frank Robson, OBE† VICE-CHAIRMAN: The Rt Revd the Bishop of Stafford<sup>†</sup> SECRETARY: Peter Beesley, Esq.† DEPUTY SECRETARY: Nicholas J. Richens, Esq.† TREASURER: The Revd John Reest

**Executive Officer** The Revd Dr Stephen Pix<sup>†</sup>

General Committee The Officers together with:

ELECTED: The Revd Canon Peter Boulton (to 2000) Brian Hanson, Esq. CBE (to 2000) David Harte, Esq. (to 2000) The Revd and Worshipful Chancellor Rupert Bursell, QC<sup>+</sup> (to 1998) David Cheetham, Esq. (to 1998) The Worshipful Chancellor Michael Goodman\*† (to 1998) Jonathan Cryer, Esq. (to 1998) Mark Hill, Esq. (to 1998) Raymond Hemingray, Esq. (to 1999) John Holden, Esq. (to 1999) The Revd John Masding (to 1999) Charles Mynors, Esq. (to 1999)

CO-OPTED: Dr Norman Doe (to 1998)

The Worshipful Chancellor Thomas Coningsby, OC (to 1999) The Worshipful Chancellor Quentin Edwards, QC (to 1999)

\* Member of Executive Committee

\* Chairman of the Editorial Committee