European Constitutional Law Review

2022 VOLUME 18 ISSUE 3

Contributions by

Tom van der Meer & Bastiaan Rijpkema; Max Steuer; Vlad Perju; Tore Vincents Olsen; François-Xavier Millet; Katarina Hyltén-Cavallius; Franca Maria Feisel; Franziska Brandmann; and Angela K. Bourne

Subjects

MILITANT DEMOCRACY, POPULISM, ILLIBERALISM: a special section set of articles discussing the European Union's democratic self-defence; a right-wing party's attempts to shield itself from militant democracy measures; the importance of judicial craft in party ban cases; citizens' action against illiberal parties; a new topology of militant democracy initiatives; and why proportional representation enhances democratic resilience; Case Notes: the European Court of Justice on the duty to refer; and on Union citizenship; Review Essay: the form of the European Union constitution

le Menzehen warden Brilds



EuConst 2022/3

BOARD OF EDITORS

Mattias Wendel

Universität Leipzig

Francois-Xavier Millet

Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona

Université des Antilles, France

Thomas A.J.A. Vandamme

University of Amsterdam

Maastricht University

Maastricht University Nik de Roer

Aida Torres Pérez

Matteo Bonelli

Michał Krajewski

Leonard F.M. Besselink, co-editor-in-chief

University of Amsterdam

Monica Claes, co-editor-in-chief

Maastricht University

Jan-Herman Reestman, co-editor-in-chief

University of Amsterdam

W.T. Eijsbouts

University of Amsterdam

John W. Sap

Open Universiteit and VU Amsterdam

Thomas Beukers

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, The Hague

University of Copenhagen Gerhard van der Schyff University of Tilburg

Jan Komárek

Bastian Michel, managing editor University of Amsterdam

University of Amsterdam

BOARD OF ADVISERS

Marta Cartabia

Professor of constitutional law, Bocconi University,

Paul Craig

Emeritus Professor of English law, St. John's College,

Oxford

Gráinne de Búrca

Professor of law, New York University School of Law

Bruno De Witte

Professor emeritus of European Union law, Maastricht University, and part-time professor, European University Institute, Florence

Spyridon Flogaitis

Professor of administrative law, University of

Athens

Jörg Gerkrath

Professor of European law, University of Luxembourg

P.J.G. Kapteyn

Former judge at the Court of Justice

Rick Lawson

Professor of European law, Leiden University

Koen Lenaerts

President of the Court of Justice and Professor of European law, KU Leuven

Ingolf Pernice

Emeritus Professor of public law and of international and European law, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Iit Peters

Professor emeritus of public law, University of

Amsterdam

Lucas Prakke

Professor emeritus of comparative constitutional

law, University of Amsterdam

Sacha Prechal

Judge at the Court of Justice and Professor of

European law, Utrecht University

Dominique Rousseau

Professor of public law, Université Paris I

Panthéon-Sorbonne

Wojciech Sadurski

Professor in jurisprudence, University of Sydney and professor extraordinarius, University of Warsaw

András Sajó

University Professor, Central European University,

Budapest

Mirosław Wyrzykowski

Professor emeritus of constitutional law, University

of Warsaw

Peter G. Xuereb

Judge at the Court of Justice and

Professor of European and comparative law,

University of Malta

Iiří Zemánek

Judge at the Czech Constitutional Court and Professor of European Union law, Charles

University, Prague