Theatre Survey

Volume 62 / Number 3 September 2021

American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR)



EDITORIAL POLICY AND PRACTICES

Theatre Survey (ISSN 0040-5574) is chartered by the American Society for Theatre Research as a theatre history journal. Its theatrical and historical orientations are broadly conceived. Performance-centered and historiographic studies from all points across the historical, cultural, and methodological spectra are welcome.

Articles should be submitted in electronic format only (Microsoft Word document). Manuscripts of twenty-five to forty pages in length, standard type (Times New Roman or the like), paginated lower center and double-spaced throughout, including endnotes, should be prepared according to the *Chicago Manual of Style*, 16th ed. Titles of books and journals cited should be italicized and bold fonts avoided. Contributors are responsible for obtaining permission and paying costs to reproduce any materials, including illustrations, for which they do not hold the copyright.

Articles can be submitted to *Theatre Survey* through the following website: http://mc.manuscriptcentral.com/theatresurvey

Correspondence concerning articles should be addressed to: Dr. Brandi Wilkins Catanese, Editor, THEATRE SURVEY, Department of Theater, Dance, and Performance Studies, University of California Berkeley, 15 Dwinelle Hall, Berkeley, CA 94720-2560; catanese@berkeley.edu

Correspondence concerning book reviews should be addressed to: Donovan Sherman, Department of English, Seton Hall University, 400 South Orange Avenue, Fahy Hall, Room 352, South Orange, NJ 07079-2646; donovan.sherman@shu.edu

Subscription Information: Theatre Survey is published three times a year, in January, May, and September, by Cambridge University Press, One Liberty Plaza, New York, NY 10006 / Cambridge University Press, Journals Fulfillment Department, UPH, Shaftesbury Road, Cambridge CB2 8BS, UK and is one of the benefits of membership in ASTR. Annual institutional subscription rates for Volume 62, 2021 (USA, Canada, and Mexico/elsewhere): print and electronic, US\$332/£203; electronic only, US\$272/£165; print only, US\$322/£195. Single part: US\$123/£75. Prices include postage and insurance. Theatre Survey and all other Cambridge journals can be found at http://journals.cambridge.org/

© The American Society for Theatre Research, Inc. 2021. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form or by any means, photocopying, electronic, or otherwise, without permission in writing from Cambridge University Press. Policies, request forms, and contacts are available at http://www.cambridge.org/permissions/permissions.htm

Permission to copy (for users in the USA) is available from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), http://www.copyright.com, email: info@copyright.com

Forwarding and return postage guaranteed, address correction requested. *Postmaster:* Send address changes in the USA and Canada to *Theatre Survey*, Cambridge University Press, Journals Fulfillment Dept., One Liberty Plaza, New York, NY 10006. Send address changes elsewhere to *Theatre Survey*, Cambridge University Press, Journals Fulfillment Department, UPH, Shaftesbury Road, Cambridge CB2 8BS, UK.

COVER: The character played by Wang Xiaohuan (stage right) and doubled onscreen in Thunderstorm 2.0. Skirball Center for the Performing Arts (New York), 6 January 2018.

Photo: Edward Morris.

Theatre Survey

The Journal of the American Society for Theatre Research Founded in 1960

EDITOR Brandi Wilkins Catanese

Associate Editor La Donna L. Forsgren BOOK REVIEW EDITOR Donovan Sherman

Assistant Editor Rebecca Struch

COPY EDITOR Michael Gnat

EDITORIAL BOARD

Shane Boyle, Queen Mary University of London (2019–21)

Jill Carter, University of Toronto (2020–2)

Amy Cook, Stony Brook University (2019–21)

Lisa A. Freeman, University of Illinois at Chicago (2020–2) Charlotte McIvor, National University of Ireland, Galway (2020–2)

Sean Metzger, University of California, Los Angeles (2020–2)

Aoife Monks, Queen Mary University of London (2020–2)

Tavia Nyong'o, Yale University (2019–21)

Joanne Tompkins, University of Queensland (2020–2) Miguel Escobar Varela, National University of Singapore (2019–21) Margaret Werry, University of Minnesota (2019–21)

Marlis Schweitzer Nicholas Ridout Harvey Young Esther Kim Lee Leo Cabranes-Grant Catherine M. Cole Past Editors Martin Puchner Jody Enders James M. Harding Rosemarie K. Bank Gary Jay Williams

Barry Witham Michael L. Quinn Judith Milhous Roger W. Herzel Attilio Favorini Ralph G. Allen

Alan S. Downer, Founding Editor

THE AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR THEATRE RESEARCH

The American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR) is a US-based professional organization that fosters scholarship on worldwide theatre and performance, both historical and contemporary.

ASTR was founded in 1956 to encourage theatre scholarship and to provide a link with other similar groups represented in the International Federation for Theatre Research (IFTR/ FIRT). Its name was adopted to distinguish it from the Society for Theatre Research, based in the United Kingdom.

In 1967, the American Society for Theatre Research was incorporated under the laws of New Jersey as a nonprofit corporation, and it is the only theatre organization in the United States affiliated with the IFTR/FIRT. The ASTR Annual Meeting occurs in the fall of each year.

Theatre Survey, the official journal of ASTR, is published three times a year, in January, May, and September, and is one of the benefits of membership in the Society. ASTR annual dues for North Americans are \$145.00 for individual members, \$65.00 for retired members, \$50.00 for students, and \$95.00 for contingent faculty. Dues can also be self-selected through a "pay what you choose" option. Overseas members pay an additional \$7.50 in each of the above categories. Inquiries about ASTR, including membership, should be directed to:

> The American Society for Theatre Research P.O. Box 922 Santa Cruz, CA 95061

OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF ASTR

Marla Carlson (President, 2018-21)

Dorothy Chansky (Vice President for Publications, 2020-3) Jimmy Noriega (Vice President for Conferences, 2018–21) Jade Power-Sotomayor (Member-at-large, Committee on Conferences, 2019–22) Katherine Zien (Vice President for Awards, 2020–3) Cláudia Tatinge Nascimento (Secretary, 2020-3) Amy Cook (Treasurer, 2020-3)

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Sarah Bay-Cheng (Executive Committee Rep, Committee on Conferences, 2018–21) Shamell Bell (2020-3)

Aparna Dharwadker (2018-21)

Eric Glover (2020–3)

Baron Kelly (2018-21)

Paige A. McGinley (2019–22)

Shayoni Mitra (2018-21)

Nicole Hodges Persley (2020-3)

Analola Santana (2019-22)

Margaret L. Werry (2019-22)

Lindsay R. Barr (Graduate Student Caucus President and Representative to the Executive Committee, 2020-1)

Theatre Survey

The Journal of the American Society for Theatre Research Founded in 1960

Volume 62, Number 3

September 2021

TABLE OF CONTENTS

45
48
72
95
22
64
74
76
78
4 7 9

Sunny Stalter-Pace, Imitation Artist: Gertrude Hoffmann's Life in Vaudeville and Dance	
Reviewed by Jennifer Schmidt	380
Natalie Crohn Schmitt, Performing Commedia dell'Arte, 1570–1630 Reviewed by Erith Jaffe-Berg	382
David Kornhaber, Theatre and Knowledge Reviewed by Gene Fendt	384