Skip to main content Accessibility help
×
Home
Hostname: page-component-5c569c448b-w5x57 Total loading time: 0.171 Render date: 2022-07-06T04:09:26.427Z Has data issue: true Feature Flags: { "shouldUseShareProductTool": true, "shouldUseHypothesis": true, "isUnsiloEnabled": true, "useRatesEcommerce": false, "useNewApi": true } hasContentIssue true

Short-pulse Laser Induced Transient Structure Formation and Ablation Studied with Time-resolved Coherent XUV-scattering

Published online by Cambridge University Press:  31 January 2011

Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten
Affiliation:
Klaus.Sokolowski-Tinten@uni-due.de, Universität Duisburg-Essen, Duisburg, Germany
Anton Barty
Affiliation:
anton.barty@desy.de, Centre for Free Electron Laser Science, Hamburg, Germany
Sebastien Boutet
Affiliation:
sboutet@slac.stanford.edu, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, Menlo Park, California, United States
Uladzimir Shymanovich
Affiliation:
uladzimir.shymanovich@uni-due.de, Universität Duisburg-Essen, Duisburg, Germany
Henry Chapman
Affiliation:
henry.chapman@desy.de, Centre for Free Electron Laser Science, Hamburg, Germany
Mike Bogan
Affiliation:
mbogan@slac.stanford.edu, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, Menlo Park, California, United States
Stefano Marchesini
Affiliation:
SMarchesini@lbl.gov, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, California, United States
Stefan Hau-Riege
Affiliation:
hauriege1@llnl.gov, Lawrence Livermore Nat. Lab., Livermore, California, United States
Nikola Stojanovic
Affiliation:
nikola.stojanovic@desy.de, HASYLAB/DESY, Hamburg, Germany
Jörn Bonse
Affiliation:
joern.bonse@bam.de, BAM Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und -prüfung, Berlin, Germany
Yudi Rosandi
Affiliation:
rosandi@physik.uni-kl.de, Universität Kaiserslautern, Kaiserslauern, Germany
Herbert M. Urbassek
Affiliation:
urbassek@rhrk.uni-kl.de, Universität Kaiserslautern, Kaiserslauern, Germany
Ra'anan Tobey
Affiliation:
r.tobey1@physics.ox.ac.uk, University of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom
Henri Ehrke
Affiliation:
h.ehrke1@physics.ox.ac.uk, University of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom
Andrea Cavalleri
Affiliation:
andrea.cavalleri@mpsd.cfel.de, Centre for Free Electron Laser Science, Hamburg, Germany
Stefan Düsterer
Affiliation:
stefan.duesterer@desy.de, HASYLAB/DESY, Hamburg, Germany
Harald Redlin
Affiliation:
harald.redlin@desy.de, HASYLAB/DESY, Hamburg, Germany
Matthias Frank
Affiliation:
frank1@llnl.gov, Lawrence Livermore Nat. Lab., Livermore, California, United States
Sasa Bajt
Affiliation:
sasa.bajt@desy.de, Centre for Free Electron Laser Science, Hamburg, Germany
Joachim Schulz
Affiliation:
joachim.schulz@desy.de, Centre for Free Electron Laser Science, Hamburg, Germany
Marvin Seibert
Affiliation:
marvin@xray.bmc.uu.se, Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden
Janos Hajdu
Affiliation:
janos@xray.bmc.uu.se, Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden
Rolf Treusch
Affiliation:
rolf.treusch@desy.de, HASYLAB/DESY, Hamburg, Germany
Christoph Bostedt
Affiliation:
bostedt@SLAC.Stanford.EDU, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, Menlo Park, California, United States
M. Hoener
Affiliation:
Freie-Universtät-Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Thomas Möeller
Affiliation:
thomas.moeller@physik.tu-berlin.de, Technical University Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Get access

Abstract

The structural dynamics of short-pulse laser irradiated surfaces and nano-structures has been studied with nm spatial and ultrafast temporal resolution by means of single-shot coherent XUV-scattering techniques. The experiments allowed us to time-resolve the formation of laser-induced periodic surface structures, and to follow the expansion and disintegration of nano-objects during laser ablation.

Type
Research Article
Copyright
Copyright © Materials Research Society 2010

Access options

Get access to the full version of this content by using one of the access options below. (Log in options will check for institutional or personal access. Content may require purchase if you do not have access.)

References

1 Chapman, H. N. et al. , Nature Phys. 2, 839 (2006).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
2 Bajt, S. et al. , Appl. Opt. 47, 1673 (2008).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
3 Young, J. F. et al. , Phys. Rev. B27, 1155 (1983).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
4 Linde, D. von der et al. , Appl. Surf. Science 154, 1 (2000)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
5 Sokolowski-Tinten, K. et al. , Phys. Rev. Lett. 81, 224 (1998).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
6 Zhakhovskij, V.V. et al. , JETP Lett. 71, 167 (2000).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
7 Lorazo, P. et al. , Phys. Rev. B73, 134108 (2006).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
8 Upadhyay, A. K. et al. , Phys. Rev. B78, 045437 (2008).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
9 Rosandi, Y. et al. , (in preparation, 2009).Google Scholar
10 Barty, A. et al. , Nature Phot. 2, 415 (2008).CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Save article to Kindle

To save this article to your Kindle, first ensure coreplatform@cambridge.org is added to your Approved Personal Document E-mail List under your Personal Document Settings on the Manage Your Content and Devices page of your Amazon account. Then enter the ‘name’ part of your Kindle email address below. Find out more about saving to your Kindle.

Note you can select to save to either the @free.kindle.com or @kindle.com variations. ‘@free.kindle.com’ emails are free but can only be saved to your device when it is connected to wi-fi. ‘@kindle.com’ emails can be delivered even when you are not connected to wi-fi, but note that service fees apply.

Find out more about the Kindle Personal Document Service.

Short-pulse Laser Induced Transient Structure Formation and Ablation Studied with Time-resolved Coherent XUV-scattering
Available formats
×

Save article to Dropbox

To save this article to your Dropbox account, please select one or more formats and confirm that you agree to abide by our usage policies. If this is the first time you used this feature, you will be asked to authorise Cambridge Core to connect with your Dropbox account. Find out more about saving content to Dropbox.

Short-pulse Laser Induced Transient Structure Formation and Ablation Studied with Time-resolved Coherent XUV-scattering
Available formats
×

Save article to Google Drive

To save this article to your Google Drive account, please select one or more formats and confirm that you agree to abide by our usage policies. If this is the first time you used this feature, you will be asked to authorise Cambridge Core to connect with your Google Drive account. Find out more about saving content to Google Drive.

Short-pulse Laser Induced Transient Structure Formation and Ablation Studied with Time-resolved Coherent XUV-scattering
Available formats
×
×

Reply to: Submit a response

Please enter your response.

Your details

Please enter a valid email address.

Conflicting interests

Do you have any conflicting interests? *