Hostname: page-component-7479d7b7d-c9gpj Total loading time: 0 Render date: 2024-07-14T01:59:45.987Z Has data issue: false hasContentIssue false

Influence of Silicon Doping on the SA-MOVPE of InAs Nanowires

Published online by Cambridge University Press:  01 February 2011

Kamil Sladek
Affiliation:
k.sladek@fz-juelich.de, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Jülich, Germany
Andreas Penz
Affiliation:
a.penz@fz-juelich.de, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Jülich, Germany
Karl Weis
Affiliation:
k.weis@fz-juelich.de, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Jülich, Germany
Stephan Wirths
Affiliation:
s.wirths@fz-juelich.de, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Jülich, Germany
Christian Volk
Affiliation:
c.volk@fz-juelich.de, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Jülich, Germany
Shima Alagha
Affiliation:
s.alagha@fz-juelich.de, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Jülich, Germany
Masashi Akabori
Affiliation:
akabori@jaist.ac.jp, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (JAIST), Nomi, Japan
Steffi Lenk
Affiliation:
s.lenk@fz-juelich.de, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Jülich, Germany
Martina Luysberg
Affiliation:
m.luysberg@fz-juelich.de, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Jülich, Germany
Hans Lueth
Affiliation:
h.lueth@fz-juelich.de, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Jülich, Germany
Hilde Hardtdegen
Affiliation:
h.hardtdegen@fz-juelich.de, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Jülich, Germany
Thomas Schaepers
Affiliation:
th.schaepers@fz-juelich.de, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Jülich, Germany
Detlev Gruetzmacher
Affiliation:
d.gruetzmacher@fz-juelich.de, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Jülich, Germany
Get access

Abstract

The influence of Si-doping on the growth and material characteristics of InAs nanowires deposited by metal-organic vapor phase epitaxy (MOVPE) was investigated. It was observed that above a certain partial pressure ratio, doping has an influence on the morphology. The nanowires exhibit better uniformity but lower height vs. diameter aspect ratio as the supply of the dopant increases. It was consistantly found that the specific conductance of the nanowires also increases. Moreover the electrical measurements showed a transition from semiconducting to metallic behavior in the case of highly doped nanowires.

Type
Research Article
Copyright
Copyright © Materials Research Society 2010

Access options

Get access to the full version of this content by using one of the access options below. (Log in options will check for institutional or personal access. Content may require purchase if you do not have access.)

References

[1] Bryllert, T., Wernersson, L.-E., Fröberg, L. E., Samuelson, L., IEEE Elec. Dev. Lett. 27, 323 (2006).10.1109/LED.2006.873371Google Scholar
[2] Dayeh, S. A., Aplin, D. P. R., Zhou, X., Yu, P. K. L., Yu, E. T., Wang, D., Small 3, 326 (2007).10.1002/smll.200600379Google Scholar
[3] Fasth, C., Fuhrer, A., Bjork, M. T., Samuelson, L., Nanoletters 5, 14871490 (2005).10.1021/nl050850iGoogle Scholar
[4] Pfund, A., Shorubalko, I., Leturcq, R., Ensslin, K., Appl. Phys. Lett., AIP, 89, 252106 (2006).Google Scholar
[5] Ford, A. C., Ho, J. C., Chueh, Y.-L., Tseng, Y.-C., Fan, Z., Guo, J., Bokor, J. and Javey, A., Nano Letters, 9, 360365 (2009)10.1021/nl803154mGoogle Scholar
6] Hansen, A. E., Björk, M. T., Fasth, C., Thelander, C., Samuelson, L., Phys. Rev. B71, 205328 (2005) 205328.10.1103/PhysRevB.71.205328Google Scholar
[7] Hiruma, K., Yazawa, M., Katsuyama, T., Ogawa, K., Haraguchi, K., Koguchi, M., Kakibayashi, H., J. Appl. Phys. 77, 447 (1995).10.1063/1.359026Google Scholar
[8] Dick, K. A., Deppert, K., Mårtensson, T., Mandl, B., Samuelson, L., Seifert, W., Nano Lett. 5, 761 (2005).10.1021/nl050301cGoogle Scholar
[9] Tomioka, K., Motohisa, J., Hara, S., Fukui, T., Jpn. J. Appl. Phys. 46, L1102 (2007).10.1143/JJAP.46.L1102Google Scholar
[10] Paetzelt, H., Gottschalch, V., Bauer, J., Benndorf, G., Wagner, G., J. Cryst. Growth 310, 5093 (2008).10.1016/j.jcrysgro.2008.06.065Google Scholar
[11] Tomioka, K., Mohan, P., Noborisaka, J., Hara, S., Motohisa, J., Fukui, T., J. Cryst. Growth 298, 644 (2007).10.1016/j.jcrysgro.2006.10.183Google Scholar
[12] Sladek, K., Klinger, V., Wensorra, J., Akabori, M., Hardtdegen, H. and Grützmacher, D., J. Cryst. Growth 312, 635 (2010) 2010).Google Scholar
[13] Akabori, M., Sladek, K., Hardtdegen, H., Schäpers, T. and Grützmacher, D., J. Cryst. Growth, 311, 3813 (2009).Google Scholar
[14] Dayeh, S. A., Semiconductor Science and Technology 25, 024004 (2010).10.1088/0268-1242/25/2/024004Google Scholar