Hostname: page-component-5d59c44645-k78ct Total loading time: 0 Render date: 2024-02-23T08:09:23.260Z Has data issue: false hasContentIssue false

Evidence of Reduced Self Heating with Partially Depleted SOI MOSFET Scaling

Published online by Cambridge University Press:  01 February 2011

Romain Gwoziecki
Affiliation:
romain.gwoziecki@st.com, CEA-DRT-LETI, GRENOBLE Cedex 9, N/A, 38054, France
Olivier Gonnard
Affiliation:
olivier.gonnard@st.com, STMicroelectronics, CROLLES, N/A, 38920, France
Gilles Gouget
Affiliation:
gilles.gouget@st.com, STMicroelectronics, CROLLES, N/A, 38920, France
Christine Raynaud
Affiliation:
christine.raynaud@st.com, CEA-DRT-LETI, GRENOBLE Cedex 9, N/A, 38054, France
Mikael Casse
Affiliation:
mikael.casse@cea.fr, CEA-DRT-LETI, GRENOBLE Cedex 9, 38054, France
Simon Deleonibus
Affiliation:
sdeleonibus@cea.fr, CEA-DRT-LETI, GRENOBLE Cedex 9, N/A, 38054, France
Get access

Abstract

The temperature rise in SOI has been measured on two successive generations. This work shows that self-heating effects become less and less severe with both MOSFET and power supply voltage scaling.

Type
Research Article
Copyright
Copyright © Materials Research Society 2006

Access options

Get access to the full version of this content by using one of the access options below. (Log in options will check for institutional or personal access. Content may require purchase if you do not have access.)

References

1 Raynaud, C. et al, Electrochemical Society Proceedings Volume 2005–03, pp. 331344.Google Scholar
2 Dallmann, D. A. and Shenai, K., IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices, vol. 42, n° 3, March 1995, pp. 489496.Google Scholar
3 Su, L. T., Chung, J.E., Antoniadis, D.A., Goodson, K. E. and Flik, M. I., IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices, vol. 41, n° 1, January 1994, pp. 6975.Google Scholar
4 Tenbroek, B. M., Redman-White, W., Lee, M. S. L. and Uren, M. J., Proceeding 1995, IEEE International SOI Conference, October 1995, pp. 4849.Google Scholar
5 Workmann, G. O., Fossum, J. G., Krishnan, S. and Pelella, M. M., IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices, vol. 45, n° 1, January 1998, pp. 125–133.Google Scholar
6 BSIM3SOI MOSFET Model Users' Manual, University of California at Berkeley, February 2002.Google Scholar