# BULLETIN

OF THE

# AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

Volume 64, Number 1 August, 2001

The Australian Mathematical Publishing Assoc. Inc. Australian National University, ACT 0200, Australia Printed in Australia by Instant Colour Press Print Post approved - PP229219/00095

ISSN 0004-9727

## THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

President: A.L. Carey	Department of Pure Mathematics, The University of Adelaide, Adelaide SA 5005, Australia.
Secretary: D. Elliott	Department of Mathematics, University of Tasmania, Hobart Tas. 7000, Australia.
Treasurer: A. Howe	School of Mathematical Sciences, The Australian National University, Canberra ACT 0200, Australia

#### Membership and correspondence.

Applications for membership, notices of change of address or title or position, members' subscriptions and correspondence related to accounts should be sent to the Treasurer. Correspondence about the distribution of the Society's BULLETIN, GAZETTE, and JOURNALS, and orders for back numbers should be sent to the Treasurer. All other correspondence should be sent to the Secretary.

#### The Bulletin.

The Bulletin of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1969. Normally two volumes of three numbers are published annually. The BULLETIN is published for the Australian Mathematical Society by the Australian Mathematical Publishing Association Inc.

Editor: Michael G. Cowling	Department of Pure Mathematics, The University of New South Wales, Sydney NSW 2052, Australia
Editorial Office: Deputy Editor: Graeme A. Chandler	Department of Mathematics, The University of Queensland, Queensland 4072, Australia.

Honorary Editor: B.H. Neumann

Robert S. Anderssen	B.D. Craven	B.D. Jones	Brailey Sims	
Alan L. Andrew	Brian A. Davey	N. Joshi	Ross Street	
R. Bartnik	P. Donovan	G.I. Lehrer	R.P. Sullivan	
Elizabeth J. Billington	J.R. Giles	K.L. McAvaney	G. Szekeres	
G. Cairns	J.A. Hempel	A.G.R. McIntosh	E.U. Tarafdar	
J. Clark	B.D. Hughes	Sidney A. Morris	H.B. Thompson	
G.L. Cohen	G. Ivanov	M. Murray	N.S. Trudinger	
John Cossey	B.R.F. Jefferies	J.H. Rubinstein	A.J. van der Poorten	
N.C. Weber				

### ASSOCIATE EDITORS

©Copyright Statement Where necessary, permission to photocopy for internal or personal use or the internal or personal use of specific clients is granted by the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., for libraries and other users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), provided that the base fee of \$A2.00 per copy of article is paid directly to CCC, 21 Congress Street, Salem, MA 01970, U.S.A. Special requests should be addressed to the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., School of Mathematical Sciences, ANU, Canberra ACT 0200 Australia.