Election of President

Notice to Fellows and Members

Fellows and Members are reminded of their rights under the Bye-Laws and Regulations, as follows:

Bye-Law XI

The President shall be elected annually from among the Fellows.

Regulation XI

1. As soon as may be practicable after the first day of June in any year the Council shall hold a nomination meeting and shall . . . nominate not less than one candidate and not more than three candidates . . .

- 2. Between the first day of June in any year and the date which is four clear weeks after the nomination meeting of the Council, written nominations, accompanied in each case by the nominees' written consent to stand for election, may be lodged with the Registrar, provided that each such nomination is supported in writing by not less than twelve Members of the College who are not members of the Council.
- 3. An election by ballot shall be held in accordance with the provisions of the Regulations.

The nominating meeting of the Council will be held on 29 January 1998 and the last date for receiving nominations under (2) above will therefore be 26 February 1998. Dr Robert Kendell is in his second year of office as President and is therefore eligible for re-election.

Election of Dean

Fellows and Members of the College are reminded of their rights in connection with the forthcoming elections for the offices of Dean.

The nominating meeting of Council will be held on 29 January 1998 and the last date for receiving nominations will therefore be 26 February 1998. The relevant Bye-Law and Regulations are printed below.

Bye-Law Section XII The other Honorary Officers

1. The Council shall, in accordance with the Regulations, make its nominations for the offices of Dean, Registrar, Treasurer, Editor and Librarian at the first meeting after the name of the President for the next ensuing College year has become known. Written nominations for the above Honorary Offices, accompanied in each case by the nominee's written consent to stand for election, may also be lodged with the Registrar at such time as may be prescribed by the Regulations, provided that each such nomination is supported in writing by not less than twelve Members of the College who are not members of the Council.

2. The Dean, Registrar, Treasurer, Editor and Librarian shall be elected from among the Fellows, by the Members of the College, in each case in accordance with the procedure prescribed by the Regulations.

Regulations XII Election of the other Honorary Officers

1. The method of electing the Honorary Officers other than the President, the Vice-Presidents, Sub-Deans and Deputy Registrars shall be the same as that for electing the President¹, save that nominations from Members of the College who are not members of the Council shall be lodged with the Registrar between the first day of June in any calendar year and the date which is four clear weeks after that meeting of the Council which is the first held after the name of the President for the next ensuing College year has become known, or (as the case may be) which is four clear weeks after that meeting of the Council which, in the case of a tie on the second ballot, determines the election of the President.

^{1.} i.e. written nominations, accompanied in each case by the nominee's written consent to stand for election, may be lodged with the Registrar, provided that each such nomination is supported in writing by not less than twelve Members of the College who are not members of the Council. An election by ballot shall be held in accordance with the provisions of the Regulations.