2015 MRS Fall Meeting Materials Hackathon Winners



In just 24 hours, Materials Hackathon participants at the 2015 Materials Research Society (MRS) Fall Meeting made 30-second pitches of ideas for new materials-related software, formed teams around those ideas, and brought the concepts to life with working computer code. They then presented the results to a panel of judges from across the materials field.

First Place

Firmi: Three-dimensional Fermi surfaces (Ryan Cooper of Oak Ridge National Laboratory and David Strubbe of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology).

Second Place

The Iron Dragons: PDF annotator for materials science terminology (David Freiberg, Christine Palmer, and Axel-Jose Munoz of Drexel University).

Third Place and Special Prize for Materials Data Challenge

MineMaterials: Web scraper for crystallographic data (Tonnam Balankura of The Pennsylvania State University, Ying Li of Argonne National Laboratory, Fu-Chang Sun of the University of Connecticut, and Enshi Xu of The Pennsylvania State University).



Hackathon participants, judges, and organizers: front row (left to right): James Warren, National Institute of Standards and Technology (Judge), Ahmed Hussein, Air Force Research Laboratory (Participant), Betsy Fleischer, MRS (Staff Organizer), Bruce Clemens, Stanford University (Chair, Academic Affairs Committee), and Bryce Meredig, Citrine Informatics (Organizer); middle row (left to right): David Strubbe, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (First Place), Ryan Cooper, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (First Place), Anubhav Jain, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (Judge), Jordan O'Mara, Citrine Informatics (Judge), and David Freiberg, Drexel University (Second Place); back row (left to right): Artem Maksov, University of Tennessee/Oak Ridge National Laboratory (Participant), Carolina Duque Sierra, Universidad de los Andes (Participant), Katie Van Aken, Drexel University (Participant), Enshi Xu, The Pennsylvania State University (Third Place and Special Prize for Materials Data Challenge), Tonnam Balankura, The Pennsylvania State University (Second Place), Christine Palmer, Drexel University (Second Place), and Ying Li, Argonne National Laboratory (Third Place and Special Prize for Materials Data Challenge).





